British Rally ChampionshipOff Road

Four Constructors Join BRC Commission

1 Mins read

Abarth UK, Citroen UK, M-Sport and Renault Sport Technologies have been announced as the first four members of the new MSA British Rally Championship Constructors’ Commission.

The commission was established at the end of 2013, with the aim to broaden the appeal of the BRC, increase multi-manufacturer participation and provide performance parity to allow any manufacturers the opportunity to compete to win.

The commission recently had its first meeting ahead of the 2014 season, with it decided that M-Sport’s Fiesta R200 and Abarth UK’s 500 R3T would be accepted in the top BRC1 category, and that the Citroen DS3 R3T would be restricted to “non-max” specification to help keep costs down.

“The role of the Constructors’ Commission to help deliver technical parity and cost effectiveness for all involved which will always be underpinned with the good of the sport in mind,” said commission chairman Mark Deans.

“The manufacturer partners have been fully supportive of initiatives to help limit costs and they have made constructive proposals for improving both the social and engagement aspects of the Championship.

“Our first priority however is to evaluate the proposed modifications to vehicles ahead of this season and ensure that all parties are happy and we are jointly able to deliver another exiting season’s rallying.”

Avatar photo
4148 posts

About author
Simon is an experienced journalist and PR officer, who has worked in the national motorsport paddocks for over a decade, primarily on the BTCC support package.
Related posts
Off Road

Glickenhaus 008 Hydrogen Fuel Cell aims to run the "first zero emission Baja 1000" in 2024

2 Mins read
Scuderia Cameron Glickenhaus’ effort to convert their SCG 008 into a hydrogen-powered vehicle for the Baja 1000 is coming together.
Off Road

Robert Stout to race Pro 4 in 2024

1 Mins read
Stadium Super Trucks driver and former LOORRS UTV champ Robert Stout will race a Pro 4 truck for the first time during the 2024 Championship Off-Road season.
Off Road

Nevada 1000 Invitational set for 2025 debut

1 Mins read
Hoping to create one of the toughest off-road races in the United States, Best In The Desert will organise the inaugural Nevada 1000 Invitational in April 2025.