Formula Ford

JTR Sign Kruger To Lead Title Defence

1 Mins read

Reigning Dunlop MSA Formula Ford Championship of Great Britain champions JTR have signed experienced South African Jayde Kruger to lead a three car line-up in the 2014 championship.

JTR dominated the 2013 Formula Ford GB season with Dan Cammish, the partnership yielding 24 wins en-route to the title. They also carded ten further podium finishes, including a 25th win, with Camren Kaminsky and Sam Brabham.

Two-time South African Formula Ford and three-time South African Formula Volkswagen champion Kruger confirmed late last month he was returning to Formula Ford GB for a first full campaign this season, following a race-winning late entry last season.

“We’ve been talking with Jayde’s management for a little while and came up with the same objectives and goals – to go racing successfully, to try to win races and try to win championships,” said JTR team manager Nick Tandy.

“Jayde impressed us last year; he came into the championship mid-season and was straight on the pace. He rarely makes mistakes and we think we can have a successful relationship. We plan to run three cars, and this week we will have all three chassis in our workshop being prepared for testing. We are in talks with a few drivers for the remaining seats, and we are hoping to firm up plans quickly.”

4147 posts

About author
Simon provides coverage of the support championships for the BTCC, having been a fixture in the TOCA paddock for over six years.
Related posts
Formula FordHistoric Racing

How to not sit on the sidelines - Benn Tilley's story

3 Mins read
Racing is alright when you have made it but how do you get there and what happens to all the other type of racing. This is Benn Tilley and this is his racing experience.
Formula Ford

Josh Smith Wins Double Red Flagged Festival Final

2 Mins read
A dramatic Formula Ford Festival Final saw Josh Smith take the lead on the final lap to beat favourite Niall Murray over the line.
Formula Ford

Murray and White Claim Semi Final Wins at Brands

2 Mins read
Niall Murray and Oliver White took Semi-Final victories in the Festival, while Eastwell, Middlehurst became the first major casualties.