Formula Ford

Kruger and Scott Take Donington Poles

2 Mins read

Championship leader Jayde Kruger and Harrison Scott will share the pole positions for the Dunlop MSA Formula Ford Championship of Great Britain at Donington Park.

Kruger set the fastest time in the session by just 0.084 seconds from his JTR Motorsport team mate Sam Brabham in a closely contested but interrupted session at the East Midlands venue this morning.

Harrison Scott didn’t win the first pole but his remarkable consistency netted him third on the grid for round four and the top spot for round six. The reigning Scholarship champion’s two fastest times were just four thousandths of a second apart.

Early in the session the current Scholarship leader Ricky Collard ground to a halt on the circuit and caused a red flag. His mechanical losses were the gain of Connor Mills who claimed both class pole positions on offer in his Mygale-Scholar from Meridian Motorsport. Once the stricken Falcon Mygale was retrieved the battle for pole heated up.

First it was Brabham who hit the top spot, only to be displaced within seconds by Scott in the #6 Falcon Motorsport machine. South African racer Kruger then hit the gas and put in a quick lap in what was then an almost uninterrupted session.

It was only late in the game that series debutant Ovie Iroro stumbled on the pit straight, grinding to a halt just past pit in. There was only a short period of yellow flags though, as the Richardson Racing signing found the fire in his EcoBoost unit and continued on his way.

It did end the competition at the front of the field though, which cemented Kruger’s pole from Brabham. Scott took third for the first race ahead of the third JTR racer Max Marshall. Fifth went to Argentine racer Juan Rosso who led his Radical Motorsport team mate James Abbott. Only Greg Holloway was split from the leading field by Scholarship runners.

With Collard out and Mills on top it was Chris Mealin who took second, salvaging some of the session for Falcon. This is despite losing his fastest time due to a track limits violation. Bobby Thompson took class third in the second Meridian machine with James Webb in tenth overall and class fourth, the better of the two Sinter chassis for SWB Motorsport.

Mechanical hiccup aside, Iroro performed well in his first competitive session of EcoBoost action, staying within three quarters a second of Greg Holloway and holding a 0.9 of a second advantage over the more experienced SWB man. Ricky Collard will start last in both races due to his early exit from the session.

For round 6 the only major switch around in the times is at the head of the field where Harrison Scott will line up on the pole. He swapped places with Jayde Kruger who will start behind his team mate Brabham.

The first Formula Ford race at Donington Park comes this afternoon, immediately following the Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship’s qualifying session at 16:35.

Related posts
Formula FordHistoric Racing

How to not sit on the sidelines - Benn Tilley's story

3 Mins read
Racing is alright when you have made it but how do you get there and what happens to all the other type of racing. This is Benn Tilley and this is his racing experience.
Formula Ford

Josh Smith Wins Double Red Flagged Festival Final

2 Mins read
A dramatic Formula Ford Festival Final saw Josh Smith take the lead on the final lap to beat favourite Niall Murray over the line.
Formula Ford

Murray and White Claim Semi Final Wins at Brands

2 Mins read
Niall Murray and Oliver White took Semi-Final victories in the Festival, while Eastwell, Middlehurst became the first major casualties.

Leave a Reply