Melker, Campana amongst entrants as FA1 Gets Underway

by Paul Hensby

The entry list for the first race weekend of the inaugural Formula Acceleration 1 (FA1) series has been released and it sees twelve drivers from around the world competing in the nations cup.   The series utilises the A1GP cars from 2005-2008.

High-profile names including Dutchman Nigel Melker, who raced last year in the Formula Renault 3.5 series for Tech 1 Racing, Italians Mirko Bortolotti (2011 Formula 2 Champion) and Sergio Campana (third place in the Auto GP World Series in 2013), 2013 European Formula 3 runner-up Felix Rosenqvist of Sweden and some-time Slovakian Auto GP racer Richard Gonda are joined on the grid by more unknown drivers such as German Sebastian Balthasar, Mexican Picho Toledano and Portuguese driver Armando Parente.

The series gets underway this weekend as part of a bigger festival type weekend that includes other four-wheel and some two-wheel motorcycle racing plus music and DJ sets in the evenings.

Portimao Formula Acceleration 1 Entry List

4 Sebastian Balthasar Performance Racing Germany
7 Nigel Melker Azerti Netherlands
10 Victor Garcia Moma Motorsport Spain
16 Mirko Bortolotti Team Ghinzani Italy
20 Rodolfo Gonzalez RC Motorsport Venezuela
23 Felix Rosenqvist Performance Racing Sweden
29 Oliver Campos TBA China
32 Sergio Campana TBA France
38 Michael Dorrbeckker RC Motorsport Mexico
39 Picho Toledano RC Motorsport Mexico
42 Armando Parente Team Ghinzani Portugal
64 Richard Gonda Team Ghinzani Slovakia


Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More