Power Takes Barber Pole Trio for IndyCar assault

1 Mins read

Team Penske’s Will Power has taken his third Barber Motorsport Park pole in five years as the Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama got into full swing.

With the aim of getting his third win at the track to combine with his Verizon P1 award, the Australian set a time of 1:08.312 to shut out James Hinchcliffe in the Andretti car by only three hundredths of a second.

For the Long Beach winner Mike Conway, he could not replicate the form which saw him lead Power over the line – a 21st for Ed Carpenter Racing saw him only ahead of rookie Jack Hawksworth and 2013 Indy 500 winner Tony Kanaan, who has had a torrid time this weekend even in the practice sessions.

However, back to the head of the field and Power has now equalled Michael Andretti’s record of 33 pole positions which will be scant conciliation for 2012 champion Ryan Hunter-Reay who was one tenth of a second back in third place but is vitally ahead of Josef Newgarden, Scott Dixon and Helio Castroneves before the 90 lap race tomorrow. will be providing full coverage of the Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama which is the third race of the 2014 Verizon IndyCar season.

Related posts

Tony Kannan Joins Ganassi for #48 Car Oval Program

2 Mins read
After what was believed to be his final season, Tony Kannan returns to IndyCar with Chip Ganassi Racing and the new #48 team.

Season Review: 2020 NTT IndyCar Series - Dixon Makes History with Title Number Six

12 Mins read
Scott Dixon won his sixth championship this year, but how did he reach this legendary milestone? Let’s recap the 2020 NTT IndyCar Series season.

Castroneves Joins Meyer Shank Racing for IndyCar Return

2 Mins read
Helio Castroneves will join Meyer Shank Racing in 2021 as the team expands to a second car.

Leave a Reply