Scott Conquers Weather For Round Five Win

Falcon Motorsport’s reigning Dunlop MSA Formula Ford Championship of Great Britain Scholarship champion, Harrison Scott, has taken his first overall race win of 2014. The eighteen year old handled a changeable set of track conditions and a strong offense by Meridian Motorsport’s Connor Mills to claim the victory in the first televised race of the day at Donington Park. After battling for the early part of the race, Scott got the upper hand and moved on to build a 4.608 second advantage at the line.

After a disappointing early end to round 4 of the championship, Scholarship runner Ricky Collard had to fight his way through the field. A task not aided by the drying track and threat of additional rain, the son of BTCC driver Rob Collard fought his way back to ninth of thirteen and third in the Scholarship class.

With the early battle resolved, Connor Mills also managed to gap his nearest rival for second. Juan Rosso for Radical Motorsport dropped over six and a half seconds to the Meridian man though he didn’t need to worry about attack from behind as his team mate James Abbott settled in to fourth place with almost four seconds to overcome if he wanted to take the podium.

Sam Brabham dropped back during the course of the race, ending up in fifth place as the first of the usually front running JTR Motorsport entered Mygales with a Mountune engine. A solid block of cars from Nick Tandy’s team continued with South African racer Jayde Kruger who bested the #18 machine of Max Marshall in seventh.

Second in the scholarship went to Bobby Thompson who in only his second race in the class managed to keep Ricky Collard behind him along with Chris Mealin. James Webb’s Sinter from SWB Motorsport took fifth in the Scholarship along with the dubious honour of being the last car on the lead lap.

That meant that series newcomer Ovie Iroro in the Richardson Racing machine failed to hold onto the lead lap over the sixteen laps of action. Greg Holloway was also lapped, classifying last in a race with no DNFs as SWB Motorsport continued to struggle with the Sinter-Scholar combination.