Bortolotti Victorious in Nurburgring Race Two

The Nurburgring weekend of the Formula Acceleration 1 series came to a close with Mirko Bortolotti claiming his third win of the season. The Italian led a Ghinzani Racing 1-2-3 as pole sitter and race 1 winner Nigel Melker failed to start.

Bortolotti qualified fourth but beat Slovakian team-mate Richard Gonda into second place at the chequered flag by just over two seconds, with another Italian Sergio Campana having his strongest race of the season so far by finishing third.

“I am absolutely delighted winning the race,” admitted Bortolotti. “I want to thank my team and my team mates, because we made a one, two, three today. It’s the best possible result for the team; they have done a great job.”

“We are moving forward step by step,” added Gonda. “I had a good start and the first two laps were good. Our strategy was going well.”

“I am happy to have finished my first race and got directly to the podium with my two team mates,” finished Campana.

Alessio Picariello finished fourth for the second day in a row for Team Belgium on his first weekend racing in Formula Acceleration 1, beating German driver Sebastian Balthasar into fifth by 1.6 seconds. Swede Jimmy Eriksson, also on his debut weekend in the series, finished sixth, while the final finisher was Mexican Picho Toledano in seventh.

Having won the opening race of the weekend and having taken pole position for race two, Dutchman Melker’s race was over before it begun, as a clutch issue left him unable to start.

“When I left pit lane I noticed problems with the clutch,” said Melker. “On the starting grid, we tried to de-aerate it, but it didn’t make a difference.”

Nurburgring Race 2 Result

1 Mirko Bortolotti Italy 43m59.853s
2 Richard Gonda Slovakia +2.067s
3 Sergio Campana Italy +14.989s
4 Alessio Picariello Belgium +15.374s
5 Sebastian Balthasar Germany +16.949s
6 Jimmy Eriksson Sweden +27.598s
7 Picho Toledano Mexico +1m17.556s
RET Michael Dorrbeckker Mexico 20 Laps
RET Armando Parente Portugal 19 Laps
RET Dennis Lind Denmark 12 Laps
RET Oliver Campos Spain 8 Laps
DNS Nigel Melker Netherlands 0 Laps