British Rallycross

British Rallycross Round 3 – Knockhill

1 Mins read

The British Rallycross Championship made its annual visit north of the border for round three of the 2014 season. With everything still wide open there was everything to gain.

There was a big change to the track since last year; leveling out the exit from the loose section back onto the tarmac was to cause a whole load of trouble with many drivers falling foul of the new ‘burms’. Notably Marty Hawkes, who is possibly experiencing the worse run of luck in rallycross history!  also Don MacLeod and John McGovern in the second heat of the RX150’s and ending up over turned. Even after hurried regrading work the new stretch was still very much like a roller coaster!

British RallyRX Round 3 - Knockhillll

There were some success stories from the weekend with four drivers making it three from three. In the Supercars Julian Godfrey timed his win perfectly only passing Steve Hill on the very last corner as Steve took his joker lap.

In the Supernationals Stuart Emery collected the honours despite driving the final with no oil in his gearbox!

Craig Lomax in the Hot Hatches appears to be in almost untouchable form taking all three heats and the final. Infact he has only lost one heat all season!

British RallyRX Round 3 - Knockhill

In the RX150’s it was business as usual for Marc Scott taking his home rounds victory.

Jack Thorne took the honours in the Super 1600 and he is most definitely a rising star and s=one to watch. During the first  heat he was a full 3 seconds quicker than everyone else including the whole Supernational grid!

British RallyRX Round 3 - Knockhill

In the Suzuki Swift camp there was no shortage of door to door racing. With Chris Mullen coming out on top. But at the half way point in the season on 5 points separates the top three drivers with Tristan Ovenden just heading the leader board followed by Mullen and 2013 champion Graham Rodemark in third.

In the juniors an unfortunate incident saw Charlie Bean roll in the final. Thankfully he was OK but only managed to make it to the grid for the restart which saw Drew Bellerby take the win and the lead in the championship.

The BMW Minis was won by the returning Kris Hudson

So at the 2014 season midpoint there’s still a lot of racing to happen and anything could! round 4 heads to Pembrey in Wales in July.

Related posts
British RallycrossBTRDA Clubmans Rallycross

BTRDA Rallycross Season Finally Gets Underway

8 Mins read
The 2020 BTRDA Clubmans Rallycross season kicked off in style at the home of rallycross itself, Lydden Hill and the driving skills on show were spectacular.
British Rallycross

5 Nations British Rallycross Season Kicks Off In Top Form

7 Mins read
Round One of the 5 Nations British Rallycross Season at Lydden Hill in Kent was full of action, excitement and a few celebrity drivers.
British Rallycross

Irish Father and Son Duo Target double British Rallycross Titles

2 Mins read
The 2007 British Rallycross Champion Ollie O’Donovan and his son Patrick both have their eyes set on their respective titles for the 2020 season which kicks off this weekend.

Leave a Reply