British Rallycross

British RX Heads to Knockhill for Round 3

2 Mins read

The 2014 MSA British Rallycross Championship in association with the Shannon Group heads to Knockhill this weekend for round three of the championship.

After rounds at Lydden Hill and Valkenswaard in Holland, Julian Godfrey leads the Supercar standings from Steve Harris, although going into Knockhill Ollie O’Donovan, Steve Hill and Simon Horton are all in contention for the win at the picturesque track.

In the Supranational class Stuart Emery, is the man to beat after taking two out two so far, with Michael Boak his closest competition in the class, all be it some distance back on 28 points compared to Emry’s 44. Also in the class will be Vince Bristow and his BMW, Alan Tapscott’s Vaulxhall, Dave Ewin in his Fiesta and Steve Rattue’s MG ZR, although the dark horse for the weekend could  Malcolm Boyd if it rains, with the Toyota MR2 running well in the wet last year.

In the action packed Swift Sport Championship. Tristan Ovenden, Graham Rodemark and Chris Mullen are covered by seven points, with Jack Brown and Mark Dodsworth also looking to challenge after disappointing rounds at Lydden and Valkenswaard.

The BMW Mini category grows by two to four this weekend, with Keifer and Kris Hudson joining David Bell and Rebecca Ryder, with Bell leading the standings on 44 points compared to Ryder’s 17. Like their Swift counterparts, the Mini’s will be very close.

In the Hot Hatch series, Craig Lomax will be hoping to extend his 12 point lead over Tomasz Wielgosz’s Peugeot 206, with the pair providing some spectacular racing over the last two rounds. There will be some drivers trying to stop them winning, however, with the Saxo trio of Stephan Gaunt, David Ellis and Tomasz Marciniak hoping to close the gap.

In the RX150 class Scotsman Marc Scott will resume battle with James Grint, with Scott so far leading the way on 44 points compared to Grint’s 34. Kevin Feeney is a distant third in the standings 28 points back, although he, Richard Moore, Adam Sargent and Don MacLeod all close together, with the quartet covered by only seven points.

Charlie Bean and Drew Bellerby are looking to go into battle in the MSA Juniors after a spectacular fight at Lydden, although Jake Taylor and Jennie Hawkes will look to stop that happening in their Suzuki Swifts.

The Super 1600 class will see Phil Chicken trying to maintain his 15 point lead over Jack Thorne, partly due to the fact he was the only driver to bring his Citroen C2 to Holland.  The two look to be competitive throughout, with Thorne taking victory at Lydden Hill earlier in the year.

And finally in the Retro Rallycross class, James Harrold’s VW Beetle is set to make an appearance despite his gearbox blowing up in a test some weeks back, as is the BDA Escort of Ray Morgan, with Lance Foster and Ian Biagi’s Mini’s also set to race, while Dave Black in an Astra GTE and Paul Smith in a VW Polo will also make an appearance. One driver not present, however, is the MG Metro 6R4 of Rob Gison, with engine issues keeping the 250bhp machine out of action.

The first race takes place tomorrow morning at 0900.

Related posts
British Rallycross

5 Nations BRX to Allow All-Electric Cars in the Supercar Class

2 Mins read
All-Elecric cars to do battle with traditional Internal Combustion Engined machineryin British Rallycross Supercar class.
British Rallycross

Chicken Makes British Rallycross Super 1600 Comeback

1 Mins read
Former Super 1600 contender Phil Chicken is set to make his comeback to the British Rallycross Championship.
British Rallycross

Spa Added To The 2021 British Rallycross Calender

1 Mins read
The 2021 5 Nations BRX season finale is planned to take place at the new World RX track at Spa Francorchamps in Belgium.

Leave a Reply