Formula Ford

Double Bubble For Brabham’s First Ford Pole

2 Mins read

JTR Motorsport driver Sam Brabham answered his critics today by securing his first ever pole position in the Dunlop MSA Formula Ford Championship of Great Britain.

The 19 year old secured his maiden single seater pole on lap eight of the qualifying session with a 1:11.552, 0.042 seconds faster than his championship leading team mate Jayde Kruger. Max Marshall was a further 0.046 seconds behind the South African driver which let JTR lock out the top three spots in race one.

After the solid block of JTR run Mygales came the first of the defending champion team’s machines. That was under the control of reigning Scholarship champion Harrison Scott, who was the only other driver to get within half a second of the rapid JTR trio. Scott set his time early on and would have secured provisional pole if not for the quick team of three who each worked their way up to their best time.

Kruger put his fastest time in on lap six to grab the provisional pole, only to lose out to Brabham two laps later. Marshall meanwhile put in his best on lap 11 to complete the lock out but couldn’t make up the deficit to his garage mates ahead.

Ashely Sutton was fifth overall and on the Scholarship pole for Jamun Racing, heading James Abbott as the best of the Radical Motorsport drivers in sixth. Seventh went to Falcon’s Ricky Collard, while Chris Mealin took third in Scholarship and eighth overall ahead of Juan Rosso who struggled for the first time this year to keep pace with his Radical team mate.

The first of the Meridian Motorsport run Mygale-Scholars rounded out the top ten in the hands of Connor Mills, split from his guest driving team mate Bobby Thompson by Richardson Racing’s Ovie Iroro. Greg Holloway qualified stone dead last for SWB Motorsport, over three seconds off the pace without even his Scholarship contesting team mate James Webb available to spare him the place.

The grid for race three, set off the second fastest times from the qualifying session was also an impressive performance for JTR. Brabham grabbed the pole again, this time by 0.114 seconds from Kruger in second. Falcon Motorsport can breathe slightly easier after Scott took a step up to third place at the expense of Marshall.

Again Abbott bettered his Radical stablemate Rosso, who actually spared Holloway the indignity of starting at the back of both races where the grid was set in qualifying. He only turned in three laps over the course of the session and despite setting a 1:13.147, will start behind the Australian.

Again the Scholarship class went to Sutton for Jamun, with Mealin and Collard for Falcon in second and third. Mills, Iroro and Thompson also line up in the same order as for race one, though the change comes as the six cars form a solid block of Scholarship runners.

Related posts
Formula FordHistoric Racing

How to not sit on the sidelines - Benn Tilley's story

3 Mins read
Racing is alright when you have made it but how do you get there and what happens to all the other type of racing. This is Benn Tilley and this is his racing experience.
Formula Ford

Josh Smith Wins Double Red Flagged Festival Final

2 Mins read
A dramatic Formula Ford Festival Final saw Josh Smith take the lead on the final lap to beat favourite Niall Murray over the line.
Formula Ford

Murray and White Claim Semi Final Wins at Brands

2 Mins read
Niall Murray and Oliver White took Semi-Final victories in the Festival, while Eastwell, Middlehurst became the first major casualties.

Leave a Reply