Muller Wins First Salzburgring Race Ahead of Coronel

Yvan Muller - Photo Credit: FIA WTCC
Yvan Muller - Photo Credit: FIA WTCC

Yvan Muller claimed his third win of the 2014 World Touring Car Championship in race one at the Salzburgring, with Tom Coronel taking a fine second place.

Coronel moved up into P2 at the first corner, with Sebastien Loeb being demoted down to fourth behind Citroen team-mate Jose Maria Lopez.

Lopez went on to pass Coronel before the end of the first lap, and set off after Muller. However, an error on lap eight saw the Argentinian overshoot the first chicane and fall back behind Coronel.

Muller took victory by 3.8 seconds, with Coronel holding off Lopez for second by 0.4 seconds and Loeb trailing in fourth.

Tiago Monteiro made up two places to finish fifth ahead of Tom Chilton, Mehdi Bennani, Gabriele Tarquini and Norbert Michelisz. Gianni Morbidelli, who was yesterday demoted from pole to sixth, fell back to tenth.