Pommer Takes Maiden Pole in Rain-Hit Hungaroring Qualifying

German driver Markus Pommer took his maiden Auto GP World Series pole position in Hungary as a torrential downpour interrupted the second session at the Hungaroring, suspending it for 45 minutes. The Super Nova International driver had already done enough for P1 before the heavens opened.

Home-hero Tamas Pal Kiss, who gets a rapturous reception every time he goes past his Hungarian fans, will join Pommer on the front row of the grid in the leading Zele Racing machine, finishing 0.474s shy of Pommer’s 1:51.949s lap. Belgian Sam Dejonghe put his troubles during practice, where he only completed four laps in the two sessions, to qualify an impressive third in his Virtuosi UK entry.

Fourth on the grid will be Michela Cerruti, the Italian woman driver out-qualifying Super Nova team-mate and 2013 Auto GP champion Vittorio Ghirelli who will start fifth. Andrea Roda was sixth in the second Virtuosi UK entry, while Loris Spinelli qualified seventh, and was the only driver to improve his lap time and position once the session restarted after the downpour. It was also the first time the young Italian has out-qualified his vastly more experienced Eurotech Engineering team-mate Kevin Giovesi who will start tenth.

Michele La Rosa will start race one tomorrow from eighth on the grid in the MLR71 by Euronova entry, one place ahead of Kimiya Sato in the sister Euronova Racing team, the current championship leader struggling in the wet conditions.

Giuseppe Cipriani in the Ibiza Racing Team machine and Zele Racing’s Yoshitaka Kuroda will start P11 and P12 after being eliminated in the opening, dry qualifying session.

Race one will take place tomorrow and is scheduled to run for 23 laps.

Hungarian Qualifying Times

1 Markus Pommer GER Super Nova International 1:51.949
2 Tamas Pal Kiss HUN Zele Racing 1:52.423
3 Sam Dejonghe BEL Virtuosi UK 1:55.540
4 Michela Cerruti ITA Super Nova International 1:56.694
5 Vittorio Ghirelli ITA Super Nova International 1:56.851
6 Andrea Roda ITA Virtuosi UK 1:57.795
7 Loris Spinelli ITA Eurotech Engineering 1:59.038
8 Michele La Rosa ITA MLR71 by Euronova 2:00.405
9 Kimiya Sato JAP Euronova Racing 2:05.575
10 Kevin Giovesi ITA Eurotech Engineering 2:09.400


11 Giuseppe Cipriani ITA Ibiza Racing Team 1:35.576
12 Yoshitaka Kuroda JAP Zele Racing 1:36.083