Formula Ford

Rosso Joins Five Strong Ford Winners Club

2 Mins read

Radical Motorsport’s Argentine racer Juan Rosso has taken victory in the second Dunlop MSA Formula Ford Championship of Great Britain race at Thruxton. The win makes Rosso the fifth winner in eight races in the single seater category for 2014, joining Sam Brabham, Jayde Kruger, Harrison Scott and his own Radical team mate James Abbott.

Having taken the pole based on his race one finishing position, Rosso fought off the unwelcome advances of JTR Motorsport’s runner Max Marshall at the start. By the end of the first lap Rosso had an advantage of almost a second over Marshall, though in the next sixteen tours he would only add another 0.9 of a second to that lead at the end of the race. Marshall took second place, holding off the Falcon Motorsport machine of Scott.

“I’m so happy for all the team,” Rosso enthused. “We have worked so hard for this. We knew that we could win but we have had some bad luck at times; now the car is wonderful and I am really pleased with my race.”

“I had good pace,” added Marshall, “but it was a case of trying to manage the tyres so that there is some life left in them for tomorrow’s race. Rosso was very quick, I have to hand it to him. I’m happy, and my tyres look all right.”

Ashley Sutton took fourth for Jamun Racing after capitalising on an aborted pass from race one winner Sam Brabham. The #1 machine was looking to put a move on Scott, but the Falcon man closed the door and Brabham had to brake. That let Sutton through and Brabham couldn’t do anything about it.

Kruger started last for JTR but scrambled his way up to sixth by the end of the race ahead of Radical’s Abbott. Ricky Collard improved his somewhat troubled lot at Thruxton by taking second in the Scholarship class for Falcon Motorsport, four places behind Sutton who topped the class. Connor Mills took class third in seemingly constant partnership with Bobby Thompson, who shares the Meridian Motorsport awning.

Ovie Iroro’s Richardson Racing run machine took eleventh ahead of the perennial back marker, Greg Holloway for SWB Motorsport. Every car which went out for the second race took the chequered flag, though conspicuous by it’s absence was the Falcon run Mygale of Chris Mealin which took significant damage in race one.

Avatar photo
366 posts

About author
I am a photographer, writer and podcast presenter, specialising in GT and Endurance racing. I've been with The Checkered Flag since 2014, covering a wide range of racing series from Formula Ford to Formula 1, with British GT the main focus of my work. You can hear me monthly on the British GT Fans Show which can be found in our Recommended Listening section.
Related posts
Formula FordTruck Racing

Oleksandr Medvedchenko among scholarship recipients from Zelenskyy

2 Mins read
Oleksandr Medvedchenko, 4× Soviet Formula Easter champion who raced Ukraine’s only European Truck Racing Championship entry, got a 2-year scholarship from President Volodymyr Zelenskyy in December.
Formula FordHistoric Racing

How to not sit on the sidelines - Benn Tilley's story

3 Mins read
Racing is alright when you have made it but how do you get there and what happens to all the other type of racing. This is Benn Tilley and this is his racing experience.
Formula Ford

Josh Smith Wins Double Red Flagged Festival Final

2 Mins read
A dramatic Formula Ford Festival Final saw Josh Smith take the lead on the final lap to beat favourite Niall Murray over the line.