Janosz Claims Maiden EuroFormula Open Victory

by Paul Hensby

Artur Janosz became the third different winner in three EuroFormula Open races in 2014 as pre-race favourite Sandy Stuvik had a nightmare race in Portimao. The victory gives the Polish driver the championship lead.

Stuvik and Janosz led away at the start, but a mechanical issue for Stuvik consigned him to the pits just after a safety car period on lap eight, and a drive-through penalty eliminated any chance the Thai driver had of scoring points. He eventually trailed home twelfth.

For Janosz this was perfect. The RP Motorsport drive led confidently once Stuvik was out of the way, and won for the first time in the series, and thus took the championship lead away from his Thai team-mate. The lead at the end was almost five seconds, with Emilio de Villota Motorsport’s Japanese racer Yu Kanamaru claiming second. Spaniard Alex Palou, who dominated race one at the Nurburgring last month, claimed the final podium spot in third for Campos Racing.

Briton Cameron Twynham was fourth in the leading Team West-Tec F3 entry, ahead of the second Campos Racing entry of Russian Konstantin Tereschenko. Thai driver Tanart Sathienthirakul ended the race in sixth for Team West-Tec F3, with the third Campos Racing entry of Sean Walkinshaw in seventh.

The final three points scorers were DAV Racing’s Gerardo Nieto in eighth, Team West-Tec F3’s Wei Fung Thong in ninth, and Saud Al Faisal in tenth for RP Motorsport.

The first lap saw a lot of incident, with Team West-Tec F3’s Yarin Stern and Nicolas Pohler, RP Motorsport’s Andres Saravia and Emilio de Villota Motorsport’s Che-One Lim all retiring due to collisions. The mid-race safety car was caused by another collision, this time between Corbetta Competizioni’s Damiano Floravanti and DAV Racing’s Henrique Baptista.

Portimao Race 1 Result

1 Artur Janosz POL RP Motorsport 35m56.718s
2 Yu Kanamaru JAP Emilio de Villota Motorsport +4.883s
3 Alex Palou ESP Campos Racing +7.163s
4 Cameron Twynham GBR Team West-Tec F3 +12.526s
5 Konstantin Tereschenko RUS Campos Racing +12.688s
6 Tanart Sathienthirakul THA Team West-Tec F3 +13.571s
7 Sean Walkinshaw GBR Campos Racing +14.876s
8 Gerardo Nieto MEX DAV Racing +15.420s
9 Wei Fung Thong HKG Team West-Tec F3 +19.915s
10 Saud Al Faisal SAU RP Motorsport +20.510s
11 Costantino Peroni ITA RP Motorsport +25.399s
12 Sandy Stuvik THA RP Motorsport +48.020s
RET John Simonyan RUS RP Motorsport 13 Laps
RET Damiano Floravanti ITA Corbetta Competizioni 7 Laps
RET Henrique Baptista BRA DAV Racing 7 Laps
RET William Barbosa COL Corbetta Competizioni 3 Laps
RET Nicolas Pohler GER Team West-Tec F3 1 Lap
RET Che-One Lim KOR Emilio de Villota Motorsport 1 Lap
RET Andres Saravia GTM RP Motorsport 0 Laps
RET Yarin Stern ISR Team West-Tec F3 0 Laps


Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More