Race Two Pole for Artur Janosz in Jerez

Having lost the championship lead to RP Motorsport team-mate Sandy Stuvik yesterday, Polish driver Artur Janosz hit back to take pole position for race two of the EuroFormula Open event at Jerez.

Janosz’s best lap time of 1:36.795s was by far the best time of the session, and will see him start the race right at the front. He will be joined on the front row of the grid by Spaniard Alex Palou, who was over two tenths of a second off the pace for Campos Racing, while Stuvik will line-up third on the grid, 0.381s behind his RP Motorsport team-mate at the front.

Yarin Stern qualified fourth for Team West-Tec F3 and is in a good position to add a strong performance to his maiden podium finish the Israeli driver secured in race one. His team-mate Cameron Twynham had a much better qualifying session second time around to take fifth having missed out on starting or finishing in the top ten in race one.

John Simonyan will start sixth for RP Motorsport, and the Russian will hope to secure points after slipping well outside the top ten despite starting in the top ten yesterday. Nicholas Pohler was seventh for Team West-Tec F3 ahead of the second Campos Racing machine of Konstantin Tereschenko, while Emilio de Villota Motorsport’s Yu Kanamaru and Team West-Tec F3’s Tanart Sathienthirakul complete the top ten ahead of this afternoons race.

Jerez Race 2 Qualifying Result

1 Artur Janosz POL RP Motorsport 1:36.795
2 Alex Palou ESP Campos Racing 1:37.003
3 Sandy Stuvik THA RP Motorsport 1:37.176
4 Yarin Stern ISR Team West-Tec F3 1:37.290
5 Cameron Twynham GBR Team West-Tec F3 1:37.335
6 John Simonyan RUS RP Motorsport 1:37.652
7 Nicholas Pohler GER Team West-Tec F3 1:37.669
8 Konstantin Tereschenko RUS Campos Racing 1:37.765
9 Yu Kanamaru JAP Emilio de Villota Motorsport 1:37.824
10 Tanart Sathienthirakul THA Team West-Tec F3 1:37.841
11 Sean Walkinshaw GBR Campos Racing 1:37.863
12 Andres Saravia GTM RP Motorsport 1:37.882
13 Henrique Baptista BRZ DAV Racing 1:37.904
14 Gerardo Nieto MEX DAV Racing 1:38.004
15 Wei Fung Thong HKG Team West-Tec F3 1:38.328
16 Che-One Lim KOR Emilio de Villota Motorsport 1:38.465
17 Saud T. Al Faisal SAU RP Motorsport 1:38.473
18 Costantino Peroni ITA Corbetta Competizioni 1:38.525
19 William Barbosa COL Corbetta Competizioni 1:38.758