Stuvik Continues Strong Weekend with Race 1 Pole

Thailand’s Sandy Stuvik dominated the first qualifying session of the Portimao weekend of the EuroFormula Open as RP Motorsport locked out the front row of the grid.

Stuvik and his Polish team-mate Artur Janosz were the only two drivers to set lap times under 1:43s, with the Thai driver getting his lap time down to 1:42.624s as the session came to an end; Janosz was 0.351s back.

Team West-Tec F3 locked out the second row, with Briton Cameron Twynham ahead of Thai driver Tanart Sathienthirakul. Tywnham was over half a second back from the pole position lap time of Stuvik.

The third RP Motorsport machine of John Simonyan will line up in fifth as the team enjoy a strong weekend to date. The Russian is just ahead of the leading Emilio de Villota Motorsport entry of Japanese driver Yu Kanamaru. Mexican Gerardo Nieto will line up for race one in seventh for DAV Racing, ahead of the leading Campos Racing machine of Nurburgring race one winner Alex Palou. The top ten are rounded out by Team West-Tec F3’s Yarin Stern and RP Motorsport’s Andreas Saravia.

Portimao Qualifying 1 Times

1 Sandy Stuvik THA RP Motorsport 1:42.624
2 Artur Janosz POL RP Motorsport 1:42.975
3 Cameron Twynham GBR Team West-Tec F3 1:43.142
4 Tanart Sathienthirakul THA Team West-Tec F3 1:43.245
5 John Simonyan RUS RP Motorsport 1:43.252
6 Yu Kanamaru JAP Emilio de Villota Motorsport 1:43.265
7 Gerardo Nieto MEX DAV Racing 1:43.316
8 Alex Palou ESP Campos Racing 1:43.404
9 Yarin Stern ISR Team West-Tec F3 1:43.452
10 Andres Saravia GTM RP Motorsport 1:43.491
11 Nicolas Pohler GER Team West-Tec F3 1:43.513
12 Konstantin Tereschenko RUS Campos Racing 1:43.526
13 Che-One Lim KOR Emilio de Villota Motorsport 1:43.555
14 Wei Fung Thong HKG Team West-Tec F3 1:43.853
15 Sean Walkinshaw GBR Campos Racing 1:43.884
16 Henrique Baptista BRZ DAV Racing 1:44.152
17 Damiano Fioravanti ITA Corbetta Competizioni 1:44.374
18 Saud T. Al Faisal SAU RP Motorsport 1:44.597
19 William Barbosa COL Corbetta Competizioni 1:45.234
20 Constantino Peroni ITA RP Motorsport 1:45.526