Stuvik Wins Portimao Race 2; Janosz Retains Championship Lead

Thailand’s Sandy Stuvik got back to winning ways by taking victory in race 2 around the Portimao circuit in Portugal. The RP Motorsport driver led from start to finish and held off the challenge of team-mate Artur Janosz for the win.

Stuvik eventually won the fifteen lap race by just over a second from Janosz, and the Thai driver now finds himself a solitary point behind the Pole in the EuroFormula Open championship standings.

Campos Racing’s Alex Palou took his second podium of the weekend and was best of the rest behind the two RP Motorsport machines in third. Fourth went to Mexican racer Gerardo Nieto for DAV Racing, finishing ahead of the leading Emilio de Villota Motorsport machine of Korean Che-One Lim.

Briton Cameron Twynham was the best Team West-Tec F3 finisher in sixth, ahead of the second Campos Racing machine of Russian Konstantin Tereschenko in seventh. Nicolas Pohler and Tanart Sathienthirakul were eighth and ninth for Team West-Tec F3, while the second DAV Racing machine of Brazilian Henrique Baptista completed the top ten.

Sathienthirakul started from the pit lane after being unable to get off the dummy grid on the parade lap. The race was reduced to fifteen laps after the start was delayed when Campos Racing’s Sean Walkinshaw stalled on the grid.

Russian John Simonyan of RP Motorsport and Yarin Stern of Team West-Tec F3 collided mid-race while battling Nieto for fourth that eliminated the Russian and caused Stern to finish seventeenth and last.

Portimao Race 2 Result

1 Sandy Stuvik THA RP Motorsport 34m31.302s
2 Artur Janosz POL RP Motorsport +1.091s
3 Alex Palou ESP Campos Racing +5.954s
4 Gerardo Nieto MEX DAV Racing +10.926s
5 Che-One Lim KOR Emilio de Villota Motorsport +13.802s
6 Cameron Twynham GBR Team West-Tec F3 +19.470s
7 Konstantin Tereschenko RUS Campos Racing +24.444s
8 Nicolas Pohler GER Team West-Tec F3 +24.502s
9 Tanart Sathienthirakul THA Team West-Tec F3 +24.636s
10 Henrique Baptista BRA DAV Racing +25.178s
11 Wei Fung Thong HKG Team West-Tec F3 +35.410s
12 Sean Walkinshaw GBR Campos Racing +37.061s
13 Damiano Fioravanti ITA Corbetta Competizioni +40.498s
14 Costantino Peroni ITA RP Motorsport +53.685s
15 William Barbosa COL Corbetta Competizioni +1m19.958s
16 Yu Kanamaru JAP Emilio de Villota Motorsport +1m33.028s
17 Yarin Stern ISR Team West-Tec F3 +1 Lap
RET Andres Saravia GTM RP Motorsport 8 Laps
RET John Simonyan RUS RP Motorsport 7 Laps
RET Saud Al Faisal SAU RP Motorsport 2 Laps