Artur Janosz on Race 1 Pole in Hungary

Polish driver Artur Janosz took his second consecutive EuroFormula Open pole position after beating Spaniard Alex Palou to top spot ahead of the first race of the weekend at the Hungaroring in Hungary.

In a closely fought session in the Hungary sun, RP Motorsport driver Janosz beat Campos Racing driver Palou to pole by 0.070s, while current championship leader Sandy Stuvik was third in a second RP Motorsport entry.

Briton Sean Walkinshaw has his best qualifying session of the season and took fourth for Campos Racing, while Guatemalan Andres Saravia was fifth for RP Motorsport. Korean driver Che-One Lim was sixth in the leading Emilio de Villota Motorsport entry, just ahead of the third and final Campos Racing entry of Russian driver Konstantin Tereschenko in seventh.

The Team West-Tec F3 team had a disappointing session, with Israeli Yarin Stern the highest-placed driver in eighth, with Russian John Simonyan of RP Motorsport ninth ahead of German Nicholas Pohler of Team West-Tec F3 in tenth.

Race one takes place later this afternoon, with Janosz keen to reduce the gap in the championship to team-mate Stuvik. The Pole’s retirement in the last race at Jerez meant that the Thai driver extended his championship lead to 29 points.

Hungaroring Race 1 Qualifying Result

1 Artur Janosz POL RP Motorsport 1:38.551
2 Alex Palou ESP Campos Racing 1:38.621
3 Sandy Stuvik THA RP Motorsport 1:38.952
4 Sean Walkinshaw GBR Campos Racing 1:39.125
5 Andres Saravia GTM RP Motorsport 1:39.140
6 Che-One Lim KOR Emilio de Villota Motorsport 1:39.226
7 Konstantin Tereschenko RUS Campos Racing 1:39.239
8 Yarin Stern ISR Team West-Tec F3 1:39.283
9 John Simonyan RUS RP Motorsport 1:39.299
10 Nicholas Pohler GER Team West-Tec F3 1:39.415
11 Christopher Hoher AUT BVM Racing 1:39.481
12 Henrique Baptista BRZ DAV Racing 1:39.633
13 Wei Fung Thong HKG Team West-Tec F3 1:39.634
14 Gerardo Nieto MEX DAV Racing 1:39.718
15 Cameron Twynham GBR Team West-Tec F3 1:39.774
16 Yu Kanamaru JAP Emilio de Villota Motorsport 1:39.844
17 Tanart Sathienthirakul THA Team West-Tec F3 1:39.973
18 Saud T. Al Faisal SAU RP Motorsport 1:40.069
19 William Barbosa COL Corbetta Competizioni 1:40.387