Janosz Closes Championship Gap after Hungary Win

Artur Janosz took his second win of the EuroFormula Open season as the RP Motorsport driver held off Alex Palou to take the chequered flag and close the gap to championship leader and team-mate Sandy Stuvik who could only finish fourth behind Andres Saravia; the Guatemalan driver securing his maiden series podium.

On the opening lap, Janosz held off fellow front row starter Palou into the first corner, but was lucky to not be collected by Stuvik who made an optimistic overtaking manoeuvre for the lead but ended up losing six places as a result of his impatience.

Behind those at the front, other drivers were in the wars, none worse than Team West-Tec F3 duo Cameron Twynham and Nicolas Pohler. The two made contact with one another that resulted in Twynham’s car overturning. Luckily for the Briton, he was able to walk away unharmed.

Janosz kept the lead after the safety car period to clear up Twynham’s car, and went onto win by just over three seconds from Palou, while Saravia had a confident and comfortable run to third.

Stuvik was able to recover to fourth at the flag, overtaking Sean Walkinshaw on track and then inheriting fourth when John Simonyan was handed a drive through penalty. Walkinshaw took fifth for Campos Racing ahead of Yu Kanamaru of Emilio de Villota Motorsport, while DAV Racing duo Henrique Baptista and Gerardo Nieto were seventh and eighth.

Wei Fung Thong took Team West-Tec F3’s only points of the day with ninth, ahead of the penalised Simonyan of RP Motorsport.

Three other drivers were eliminated on lap 11 of the race. Che-One Lim of Emilio de Villota Motorsport attempted to overtake Team West-Tec F3’s Yarin Stern but the two drivers collided, and while trying to return to the track, Lim collided with Christopher Hoher of BVM Racing that ended with them both in the wall.

Janosz’s win and the bonus point for fastest lap means the championship lead for Stuvik has been reduced to sixteen points heading into tomorrow’s second race of the weekend.

Hungaroring Race 1 Result

1 Artur Janosz POL RP Motorsport 35m26.125s
2 Alex Palou ESP Campos Racing +3.233s
3 Andres Saravia GTM RP Motorsport +14.120s
4 Sandy Stuvik THA RP Motorsport +19.399s
5 Sean Walkinshaw GBR Campos Racing +24.431s
6 Yu Kanamaru JAP Emilio de Villota Motorsport +28.668s
7 Henrique Baptista BRZ DAV Racing +34.112s
8 Gerardo Nieto MEX DAV Racing +35.183s
9 Wei Fung Thong HKG Team West-Tec F3 +38.038s
10 John Simonyan RUS RP Motorsport +38.736s
11 William Barbosa COL Corbetta Competizioni +39.903s
12 Saud T. Al Faisal SAU RP Motorsport +40.778s
13 Tanart Sathienthirakul THA Team West-Tec F3 +41.360s
14 Konstantin Tereschenko RUS Campos Racing +47.853s
RET Yarin Stern ISR Team West-Tec F3 11 Laps
RET Che-One Lim KOR Emilio de Villota Motorsport 11 Laps
RET Christopher Hoher AUT BVM Racing 11 Laps
RET Nicolas Pohler GER Team West-Tec F3 6 Laps
RET Cameron Twynham GBR Team West-Tec F3 0 Laps