Janosz Continues Hungary Domination with Race 2 Pole

Polish driver Artur Janosz took his second EuroFormula Open pole position of the weekend ahead of this afternoons race two around the Hungaroring in Hungary.

The RP Motorsport driver will be looking to secure his second victory of the weekend having controlled yesterdays opener superbly, and will be starting race two alongside his team-mate and championship rival Sandy Stuvik.

Sixteen-year-old Alex Palou led the session early on, but the two dominant RP Motorsport drivers pushed the Campos Racing driver down to third by the end of the session. He will be joined on row two by Team West-Tec F3’s Nicolas Pohler, the German putting his nightmare Saturday behind him, when he caused the crash that caused his British team-mate Cameron Twynham to flip over at turn one on the opening lap.

Twynham himself qualified fifth on the grid, ahead of BVM Racing’s Austrian racer Christopher Hoher, who is in his first race weekend of the season in the series. Russian driver Konstantin Tereschenko will start in seventh position for Campos Racing, with DAV Racing’s Mexican driver Gerardo Nieto eighth. Row five will be taken by yesterday’s podium finisher Andres Saravia of RP Motorsport, and DAV Racing’s Henrique Baptista.

Once again the EuroFormula Open qualifying was a close run affair, with less than two seconds covering Janosz’s pole lap and William Barbosa in nineteenth.

Hungaroring Race 2 Qualifying Result

1 Artur Janosz POL RP Motorsport 1:38.867
2 Sandy Stuvik THA RP Motorsport 1:39.028
3 Alex Palou ESP Campos Racing 1:39.042
4 Nicolas Pohler GER Team West-Tec F3 1:39.553
5 Cameron Twynham GBR Team West-Tec F3 1:39.653
6 Christopher Hoher AUT BVM Racing 1:39.666
7 Konstantin Tereschenko RUS Campos Racing 1:39.673
8 Gerardo Nieto MEX DAV Racing 1:39.727
9 Andres Saravia GTM RP Motorsport 1:39.749
10 Henrique Baptista BRZ DAV Racing 1:39.816
11 John Simonyan RUS RP Motorsport 1:39.832
12 Yu Kanamaru JAP Emilio de Villota Motorsport 1:39.873
13 Saud T. Al Faisal SAU RP Motorsport 1:39.874
14 Yarin Stern ISR Team West-Tec F3 1:39.885
15 Sean Walkinshaw GBR Campos Racing 1:39.974
16 Wei Fung Thong HKG Team West-Tec F3 1:40.048
17 Tanart Sathienthirakul THA Team West-Tec F3 1:40.132
18 Che-One Lim KOR Emilio de Villota Motorsport 1:40.286
19 William Barbosa COL Corbetta Competizioni 1:40.723