Lasse Sorensen Doubles Up with Race 2 Victory at Val de Vienne

After his earlier victory in race one, Lasse Sorensen took his second win of the weekend by rising from tenth on the grid to take victory in the second French F4 race at Val de Vienne. Russian Denis Bulatov was second, with Aussie Joseph Mawson completing the podium.

The top ten from race one are inverted to create the grid for race two, and it saw four Frenchmen take the front two rows of the grid. Valentin Hasse Clot, who finished tenth in race one therefore took his place at the front of the field when the lights went out at the start, and remained in the lead on the opening lap.

The opening lap saw the end of the race for the other two podium finishers from race one, when Felix Hirsiger and Paul Hokfelt Jr collided. Their retirements mean Sorensen moved up to eighth on the opening lap, and the Dane then passed Amaury Richard for seventh.

Just after half-distance, Sorensen was up to third having passed Bryan Elpitiya and Mawson, as Hasse Clot continued to lead from Dorian Boccolacci.   Unfortunately for Hasse Clot, his promising day came to an end when he spun out of the lead at the end of the straight, and his excursion also delayed Boccolacci sufficiently to allow Sorensen into the lead.

Mawson and Bulatov also took advantage of the delayed Boccolacci, and fought hard for second and third as the laps ran down. For the second time in the weekend, Bulatov took a position away from Mawson on the final lap to take second, with Mawson third and Boccolacci fourth, with Mexican Patricio O’Ward right on their tail in fifth.

Elpitiya finished sixth ahead of Ricard, while Vladimir Atoev, Valentin Moineault and Simo Laaksonen completed the top ten.

Val de Vienne Race 2 Result (Top 10)

1 Lasse Sorensen DEN 14 Laps
2 Denis Bulatov RUS +3.210s
3 Joseph Mawson AUS +3.639s
4 Dorian Boccolacci FRA +4.042s
5 Patricio O’Ward MEX +4.345s
6 Bryan Elpitiya FRA +8.857s
7 Amaury Richard FRA +14.559s
8 Vladimir Atoev RUS +14.845s
9 Valentin Moineault FRA +15.064s
10 Simo Laaksonen FIN +15.664s