Palou wins Race 2 as Title Battle Heats Up in Hungary

Spaniard Alex Palou took his second victory of his maiden car racing season in Hungary as the EuroFormula Open Championship battle became a three-way fight.

Artur Janosz’s second place and the retirement for Sandy Stuvik means that only seven points covers Janosz in first to Palou in third in the championship.

Pole sitter Janosz led into the first corner, but Palou made a good start from third to slip ahead of Stuvik on the opening lap. The following time around he took the lead after RP Motorsport driver Janosz made a slight mistake, and he controlled the race throughout, including through a safety car period to clear up the RP Motorsport machine of John Simonyan on lap seven.

Stuvik was keeping close company with the two drivers ahead of him when a mechanical issue on the sixth lap on his RP Motorsport car forced him to stop, and the pre-race championship leader was forced to see Janosz take P1 in the title race away from him.

Stuvik’s retirement promoted Palou’s Campos Racing team-mate Konstantin Tereschenko to the podium for the first time in 2014, and he held of Austrian driver Christopher Hoher of BVM Racing for third until the flag.

Yu Kanamaru was fifth for Emilio de Villota Motorsport ahead of yesterday’s podium finisher Andres Saravia, while Team West-Tec F3 duo Yarin Stern and Nicolas Pohler were seventh and eighth. It was a difficult weekend throughout for West-Tec, with Cameron Twynham and Tanart Sathienthirakul both failing to score a point all weekend.

Gerardo Nieto took ninth and two points for DAV Racing, while the final point in tenth position went to Campos Racing’s Sean Walkinshaw.

Hungaroring Race 2 Result

1 Alex Palou ESP Campos Racing 33m56.296s
2 Artur Janosz POL RP Motorsport +3.216s
3 Konstantin Tereschenko RUS Campos Racing +9.537s
4 Christopher Hoher AUT BVM Racing +10.114s
5 Yu Kanamaru JAP Emilio de Villota Motorsport +11.005s
6 Andres Saravia GTM RP Motorsport +13.820s
7 Yarin Stern ISR Team West-Tec F3 +15.145s
8 Nicolas Pohler GER Team West-Tec F3 +17.317s
9 Gerardo Nieto MEX DAV Racing +18.030s
10 Sean Walkinshaw GBR Campos Racing +18.819s
11 William Barbosa COL Corbetta Competizioni +21.561s
12 Henrique Baptista BRZ DAV Racing +22.178s
13 Cameron Twynham GBR Team West-Tec F3 +23.115s
14 Tanart Sathienthirakul THA Team West-Tec F3 +34.504s
RET Che-One Lim KOR Emilio de Villota Motorsport 11 Laps
RET Saud T. Al Faisal SAU RP Motorsport 11 Laps
RET John Simonyan RUS RP Motorsport 7 Laps
RET Sandy Stuvik THA RP Motorsport 6 Laps
RET Wei Fung Thong HKG Team West-Tec F3 2 Laps