Stern Ends Friday Practice on top at Silverstone

The EuroFormula Open field had a good day of running as the series arrived at Silverstone for round five of the season. Israeli driver Yarin Stern ended the day fastest for Team West-Tec F3, just ahead of his team-mate Tanart Sathienthirakul.

The first of the three practice sessions of the day were held in rainy conditions, and the times were mainly irrelevant. In that first session it was Christopher Hoher of BVM Racing who set the pace, but with a time over twenty seconds off the pace of the other two sessions.

The second and third sessions were held in much better conditions, and the fastest times of the day were obviously set in those sessions. Stern took the best time of the day in the final session, becoming the first driver to set a lap underneath 1:56s. Sathienthirakul was second, with championship contender Alex Palou third for Campos Racing.

Emilio de Villota Motorsport duo Che-One Lim and Yu Kanamaru were fourth and fifth fastest on Friday, ahead of the third of the four Team West-Tec F3 entries of Wei Fung Thong.

The two RP Motorsport drivers who are in the fight for the championship with Palou saw themselves set the seventh and eighth best time of the day. Thai driver Sandy Stuvik was the faster of the two, albeit ahead by 0.036s from current championship leader Artur Janosz.

Henrique Baptista was ninth in the sole DAV Racing machine, while Andres Saravia was tenth for RP Motorsport.

Before the weekend even began, the field has been reduced to just sixteen runners, with Cameron Twynham having opted to leave Team West-Tec F3 to concentrate on his new venture into the Formula Renault 3.5 Series with Comtec Racing, while DAV Racing are down to one entry for Baptista with Gerardo Nieto not racing at Silverstone. The Corbetta Competizioni team are missing from the grid altogether, with their regular driver William Barbosa absent.

Silverstone Free Practice Result (Combined)

1 Yarin Stern ISR Team West-Tec F3 1:55.733
2 Tanart Sathienthirakul THA Team West-Tec F3 1:56.056
3 Alex Palou ESP Campos Racing 1:56.246
4 Che-One Lim KOR Emilio de Villota Motorsport 1:56.260
5 Yu Kanamaru JPN Emilio de Villota Motorsport 1:56.294
6 Wei Fung Thong HKG Team West-Tec F3 1:56.339
7 Sandy Stuvik THA RP Motorsport 1:56.340
8 Artur Janosz POL RP Motorsport 1:56.376
9 Henrique Baptista BRZ DAV Racing 1:56.600
10 Andres Saravia GTM RP Motorsport 1:56.622
11 Sean Walkinshaw GBR Campos Racing 1:56.653
12 Christopher Hoher AUT BVM Racing 1:56.817
13 Konstantin Tereschenko RUS Campos Racing 1:57.143
14 Nicolas Pohler GER Team West-Tec F3 1:57.277
15 John Simonyan RUS RP Motorsport 1:57.311
16 Saud T. Al Faisal SAU RP Motorsport 1:59.083