Stuvik Extends Championship Lead after Race 2 Victory

Sandy Stuvik held off the race long challenge of Alex Palou for his second win of the weekend at Silverstone and his sixth of the EuroFormula Open season.

The Thai driver initially lost the lead at the start to a fast-starting Yarin Stern of Team West-Tec F3, who had started third on the grid, but before the opening lap was over, Stern had slipped back to third behind RP Motorsport driver Stuvik and Campos Racing driver Palou, and held onto that position until the flag.

Palou never let Stuvik get away, with the Spaniard challenging but ultimately coming up short for the win, and the youngster only dropped back on the final lap when he made a small mistake that cost him a couple of seconds.

Japanese driver Yu Kanamaru finished fourth for Emilio de Villota Motorsport, ahead of a disappointed Artur Janosz of RP Motorsport, who for the second day in a row lost ground to his main championship rivals Stuvik and Palou. Indeed, having arrived at Silverstone in the lead, Janosz now sits third, 28 points behind Stuvik.

The third (of five) RP Motorsport machines finished sixth in the hands of Guatemalan driver Andres Saravia, with Team West-Tec F3’s Thai driver Tanart Sathienthirakul seventh.

Over twelve seconds back from Sathienthirakul was the second Campos Racing entry of Russian Konstantin Tereschenko, while Nicolas Pohler of Team West-Tec F3 and John Simonyan of RP Motorsport took the final points for ninth and tenth despite neither having set a lap time in qualifying that resulted in them starting at the back of the field.

The series takes a break now until September when it arrives at the legendary Spa-Francorchamps track in Belgium, and Stuvik will be happy to be leading the championship on 188 points, 20 ahead of Palou and 28 clear of Janosz.

Silverstone Race 2 Result

1 Sandy Stuvik THA RP Motorsport 29m10.991s
2 Alex Palou ESP Campos Racing +2.514s
3 Yarin Stern ISR Team West-Tec F3 +5.785s
4 Yu Kanamaru JAP Emilio de Villota Motorsport +7.722s
5 Artur Janosz POL RP Motorsport +11.418s
6 Andres Saravia GTM RP Motorsport +12.148s
7 Tanart Sathienthirakul THA Team West-Tec F3 +13.403s
8 Konstantin Tereschenko RUS Campos Racing +25.888s
9 Nicolas Pohler GER Team West-Tec F3 +27.338s
10 John Simonyan RUS RP Motorsport +35.733s
11 Henrique Baptista BRZ DAV Racing +37.082s
12 Sean Walkinshaw GBR Campos Racing +43.535s
13 Che-One Lim KOR Emilio de Villota Motorsport +48.867s
14 Saud T. Al Faisal SAU RP Motorsport +57.450s
15/RET Christopher Hoher AUT BVM Racing +1 Lap
RET Wei Fung Thong HKG Team West-Tec F3 1 Lap