Stuvik Wins at Silverstone to Reclaim Championship Lead

Thai driver Sandy Stuvik took his fifth win of the EuroFormula Open season to retake the championship lead at Silverstone. The RP Motorsport driver jumped ahead of pole sitter Alex Palou on the opening lap, and pulled away to win by 8.062s.

The track was still damp after the morning rain that affected qualifying, but all sixteen drivers started the race on dry tyres, and it was Stuvik that made the best start as Palou struggled off the line. The Campos Racing driver was only just able to stay ahead of Team West-Tec F3’s Yarin Stern, but then pulled away from the Israeli driver who completed the Silverstone podium.

Yu Kanamaru took fourth place for Emilio de Villota Motorsport, ahead of the disappointed Artur Janosz, who could only climb to fifth from his eighth place on the grid, and saw Stuvik take the championship lead back away from the Polish driver.

Campos Racing duo Konstantin Tereschenko and Sean Walkinshaw finished less than four tenths of a second apart in sixth and seventh, ahead of Wei Fung Thong of Team West-Tec F3 in eighth. Che-One Lim of Emilio de Villota Motorsport and Tanart Sathienthirakul of Team West-Tec F3 rounded out the top ten.

Stuvik now has 161 points and leads the championship by 11 points from both Palou and Janosz who are tied on 150 points. Those three are comfortable ahead of the rest of the field, with Kanamaru fourth 96 points adrift of Stuvik.

Silverstone Race 1 Result

1 Sandy Stuvik THA RP Motorsport 29m27.681s
2 Alex Palou ESP Campos Racing +8.062s
3 Yarin Stern ISR Team West-Tec F3 +13.200s
4 Yu Kanamaru JAP Emilio de Villota Motorsport +14.673s
5 Artur Janosz POL RP Motorsport +19.207s
6 Konstantin Tereschenko RUS Campos Racing +28.361s
7 Sean Walkinshaw GBR Campos Racing +28.756s
8 Wei Fung Thong HKG Team West-Tec F3 +29.596s
9 Che-One Lim KOR Emilio de Villota Motorsport +30.913s
10 Tanart Sathienthirakul THA Team West-Tec F3 +31.994s
11 Saud T. Al Faisal SAU RP Motorsport +52.222s
12/RET John Simonyan RUS RP Motorsport +4 Laps
RET Christopher Hoher AUT BVM Racing 2 Laps
RET Andres Saravia GTM RP Motorsport 0 Laps
RET Nicolas Pohler GER Team West-Tec F3 0 Laps
RET Henrique Baptista BRZ DAV Racing 0 Laps