Marquez Completes Perfect Ten With Indianapolis Win

Marc Marquez has become the first rider for seventeen years to win ten consecutive Grands Prix in the premier class after another virtuoso performance in Indianapolis. The world champion had to work hard to overcome the two Movistar Yamahas early on but once he managed to get his nose in front, Marquez was never going to be caught.

For all of his talent, the starts continue to be something of a weakness for Marquez and the polesitter lost his lead immediately when the lights changed. Andrea Dovizioso blasted straight past from the middle of the front row but Valentino Rossi grabbed the holeshot into turn two with a late dive up the inside of the Ducati.

The two Italians fought out an entertaining early tussle with a pair of Spaniards in close company, Marquez and Jorge Lorenzo running third and fourth. The race seemed to be swinging Marc’s way as early as lap six as the leading duo clashed at turn four following a physical move from Rossi but Marquez’s lead wouldn’t even last a lap as a motivated Valentino fought his way back in front at turn eleven.

Lorenzo had taken advantage of the mayhem to leapfrog Dovizioso into third and he had designs on second at the start of lap ten. Jorge charged up the inside of Marquez at turn one but the 21 year old braved it out around the outside, mindful that he would be in prime position for the tighter turn two. Marc’s strategy proved correct as he held Lorenzo at bay but in the process, both Spaniards barged past the Yamaha of Rossi and in the blink of an eye, Marc had gone from a possible third to a clear lead.

Valentino was successful in regaining second from his teammate but as the two factory Yamahas squabbled, Marquez was given just enough of a margin to break the slipstream, and ultimately defeat his rivals for a tenth time in succession. Lorenzo prevailed in his fight with Rossi to claim second while his teammate completed the podium, four seconds clear of an off-form Dani Pedrosa.

The Tech 3 Yamahas of Pol Espargaro and Bradley Smith completed the top six after overhauling Andrea Dovizioso who faded once the medium tyres on his Ducati cried enough. Cal Crutchlow finished one place behind his teammate in eighth after winning an entertaining duel with compatriot Scott Redding while there was a first points finish of 2014 for Michael Laverty who brought his PBM home in fourteenth. Leon Camier’s promising debut weekend didn’t bring such a reward after technical problems halted his Aspar Honda.