Formula Renault 2.0

Aitken Holds of Leclerc for First Eurocup Win

2 Mins read

Jack Aitken converted his maiden Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 Series pole position into his maiden series win by leading from start to finish in race two at the Hungaroring.

The British driver held off the challenge of his Fortec Motorsports team-mate Charles Leclerc, with the wildcard driver taking second place for the second day running.   As a wildcard entry, the Monegasque driver cannot score points towards the championship, so his eighteen points went to Italian Ignazio D’Agosto of Koiranen GP who finished third on the road.

Swedish driver Gustavo Malja could not make the most of a front row grid slot to finish fourth for Josef Kaufmann Racing, ahead of Briton Matt Parry of Fortec Motorsports, while Thai driver Alexander Albon of KTR finished sixth.

Championship leader Nyck de Vries could only finish seventh for Koiranen GP, but still managed to extend his championship lead as his main rival Dennis Olsen was eighth for Prema Powerteam.

Race one winner Andrea Pizzitola moved up from a lowly grid slot to finish ninth in race two, ahead of his Manor MP Motorsport team-mate Steijn Schothorst. The final point went to Swiss driver Kevin Jorg of Josef Kaufmann Racing, who finished eleventh but with Leclerc not eligible for scoring finishing ahead of him.

The safety car was needed early in the race after Fortec Motorsport’s Estonian driver Martin Rump’s car was stranded on the track. This closed the field up but Aitken was able to control the field on the restart, and led until the chequered flag.

Hungaroring Race 2 Result

1 Jack Aitken GBR Fortec Motorsports 27m55.150s
2 Charles Leclerc MON Fortec Motorsports +0.573s
3 Ignazio D’Agosto ITA Koiranen GP +1.548s
4 Gustav Malja SWE Josef Kaufmann Racing +4.892s
5 Matt Parry GBR Fortec Motorsports +5.701s
6 Alexander Albon THA KTR +6.188s
7 Nyck de Vries NED Koiranen GP +6.635s
8 Dennis Olsen NOR Prema Powerteam +7.117s
9 Andrea Pizzitola FRA Manor MP Motorsport +7.658s
10 Steijn Schothorst NED Manor MP Motorsport +9.793s
11 Kevin Jorg SWI Josef Kaufmann Racing +11.654s
12 Jake Hughes GBR Strakka Racing +12.088s
13 Ryan Tveter USA Josef Kaufmann Racing +14.199s
14 Aurelien Panis FRA ART Junior Team +14.725s
15 Vasily Romanov RUS Tech 1 Racing +15.456s
16 Anthoine Hubert FRA Tech 1 Racing +15.937s
17 Gregor Ramsey GBR KTR +17.901s
18 Hans Villemi EST Prema Powerteam +18.392s
19 Simon Gachet FRA ART Junior Team +19.220s
20 Callan O’Keeffe RSA ART Junior Team +19.729s
21 Luke Chudleigh CAN Tech 1 Racing +22.607s
22 James Allen AUS ARTA Engineering +35.272s
RET Martin Rump EST Fortec Motorsports 2 Laps
RET Egor Orudzhev RUS Tech 1 Racing 1 Lap
RET Nick Cassidy NZL Koiranen GP 0 Laps
RET Bruno Bonifacio BRZ Prema Powerteam 0 Laps
RET Matthew Graham GBR Strakka Racing 0 Laps


Related posts
24 Hours of Le MansEuropean Le Mans SeriesFormula Renault 2.0Interviews

Confident de Sadeleer ready for LMP2 jump with United Autosports

3 Mins read
Hugo de Sadeleer is preparing himself for his rookie LMP2 campaign in ELMS in 2017, with his deal with United Autosports also providing him with his 24 Hours of Le Mans debut.
Formula Renault 2.0Season Review

2016 Formula Renault 2.0 Review – Norris does the double

4 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup and NEC championships, both of which were dominated and won by Lando Norris.
BTCCFIA WECFIA World Rally ChampionshipFormula 1Formula Renault 2.0MotoGP

2016’s Best Recognised At Annual Autosport Awards

2 Mins read
Nico Rosberg, Sebastian Ogier, Lando Norris and Gordon Shedden were amongst the winners in the 2016 Autosport Awards.

Leave a Reply