Aitken on Pole for Eurocup Race 2 in Hungary

Briton’s Jack Aitken secured his first pole position of the season as rain once again affected the two-part qualifying session for the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 Series event in Hungary.

The Fortec Motorsports driver was quickest in the second session to take top spot, with Swede Gustav Malja of Josef Kaufmann Racing topping the first session to start on the front row alongside Aitken.  Everyone in the second session will therefore start on the odd numbered grid slots.

Wildcard driver Charles Leclerc will start third, also for Fortec Motorsports, ahead of Dutch duo Steijn Schothorst of Manor MP Motorsports and Nyck de Vries of Koiranen GP, the current championship leader.

De Vries will be confident of increasing his championship lead in the afternoons race, with closest rival Dennis Olsen down in twelfth place on the grid for Prema Powerteam.

De Vries’ Koiranen GP team-mate Ignazio D’Agosto will start sixth on the grid, with the third of the four Fortec Motorsport drivers Matt Parry in seventh.

Egor Orudzhev was the leading Tech 1 Racing driver in eighth, ahead of the leading Prema Powerteam driver Bruno Bonifacio in ninth, with Anthoine Hubert rounding out the top ten for Tech 1 Racing.

Race 1’s pole sitter and winner Andrea Pizzitola had a very different Sunday morning qualifying, and the Manor MP Motorsport driver will start down in eighteenth position on the grid for race 2.

Hungaroring Race 2 Qualifying Result

1 Jack Aitken GBR Fortec Motorsports 2:02.274
2 Gustav Malja SWE Josef Kaufmann Racing 2:03.541
3 Charles Leclerc MON Fortec Motorsports 2:02.447
4 Steijn Schothorst NED Manor MP Motorsport 2:03.669
5 Nyck de Vries NED Koiranen GP 2:02.500
6 Ignazio D’Agosto ITA Koiranen GP 2:04.199
7 Matt Parry GBR Fortec Motorsports 2:03.071
8 Egor Orudzhev RUS Tech 1 Racing 2:04.296
9 Bruno Bonifacio BRZ Prema Powerteam 2:03.313
10 Anthoine Hubert FRA Tech 1 Racing 2:04.368
11 Nick Cassidy NZL Koiranen GP 2:03.346
12 Dennis Olsen NOR Prema Powerteam 2:04.559
13 Martin Rump EST Fortec Motorsports 2:03.350
14 Kevin Jorg SWI Josef Kaufmann Racing 2:04.772
15 Alexander Albon THA KTR 2:03.548
16 Ryan Tveter USA Josef Kaufmann Racing 2:04.865
17 Aurelien Panis FRA ART Junior Team 2:04.345
18 Andrea Pizzitola FRA Manor MP Motorsport 2:04.916
19 Jake Hughes GBR Strakka Racing 2:04.361
20 James Allen AUS ARTA Engineering 2:05.254
21 Vasily Romanov RUS Tech 1 Racing 2:04.823
22 Callan O’Keeffe RSA ART Junior Team 2:05.652
23 Simon Gachet FRA ART Junior Team 2:05.181
24 Luke Chudleigh CAN Tech 1 Racing 2:06.409
25 Gregor Ramsey GBR KTR 2:05.340
26 Hans Villemi EST Prema Powerteam 2:06.939
27 Matthew Graham GBR Strakka Racing 2:05.437