Formula Renault 2.0

Aitken Revels in Maiden Eurocup Victory

1 Mins read

It was a tale of two very different days for eighteen-year-old Briton Jack Aitken during the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 Series event at the Hungaroring.

On Saturday, he made a rare error in his Fortec Motorsports machine in qualifying that saw him start right at the back of the field, and he could only climb a few places on a circuit notoriously difficult to overtake on.

On Sunday however, he more than made up for his Saturday error by taking his first pole position and then turning that into his maiden victory, holding off the challenge of team-mate Charles Leclerc throughout.

“It’s difficult to describe the elation for myself and the whole team, after working so hard to get the car right,” said Aitken. “Of course a massive thank you to all the guys for fixing my car after my mistake on Saturday. It doesn’t get much better than pole and the win, we’ll just keep working to make sure we’re back on the podium at Paul Ricard!”

“We struggled in the first half of the season, partly because of our lack of pre-season practice,” added Aitken on his personal website, “There was nothing we could do about that, but we expected to come good in the second half of the season. The team has worked really hard to make that happen and now we have our first win.

“We are looking to continue to product strong results at Paul Ricard and Jerez, and have a really strong end to the season. I have to say a huge thank you to all the guys at Fortec for supporting me and giving me a race winner today!”

Related posts
24 Hours of Le MansEuropean Le Mans SeriesFormula Renault 2.0Interviews

Confident de Sadeleer ready for LMP2 jump with United Autosports

3 Mins read
Hugo de Sadeleer is preparing himself for his rookie LMP2 campaign in ELMS in 2017, with his deal with United Autosports also providing him with his 24 Hours of Le Mans debut.
Formula Renault 2.0Season Review

2016 Formula Renault 2.0 Review – Norris does the double

4 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup and NEC championships, both of which were dominated and won by Lando Norris.
BTCCFIA WECFIA World Rally ChampionshipFormula 1Formula Renault 2.0MotoGP

2016’s Best Recognised At Annual Autosport Awards

2 Mins read
Nico Rosberg, Sebastian Ogier, Lando Norris and Gordon Shedden were amongst the winners in the 2016 Autosport Awards.

Leave a Reply