EuroFormula Open

Another Pole for Stunning Stuvik at Monza

1 Mins read

Sandy Stuvik took his eighth pole position of an amazing EuroFormula Open season as he led an RP Motorsport one-two in qualifying for race one at Monza.

Thai driver Stuvik, who has a chance of clinching the title this weekend, was the only driver to dip underneath 1:47s, with his 1:46.760s being 0.282s clear of his Guatemalan team-mate Andres Saravia.

Spaniard Alex Palou, the driver most likely to challenge Stuvik for the title over the remaining rounds will start third for Campos Racing, while Italian Kevin Giovesi, making his first start in the series this season for DAV Racing, will start fourth.

Austrian racer Christopher Hoher will start fifth for BVM Racing ahead of Emilio de Villota Motorsport’s Japanese racer Yu Kanamaru.

Polish driver Artur Janosz continues to see his own championship challenge fall away as he could only qualify his RP Motorsport machine in seventh, with Team West-Tec F3’s Tanart Sathienthirakul eighth.

The second Campos Racing machine of Russian Konstantin Tereschenko will start ninth ahead of Team West-Tec F3’s Wei Fung Thong.

Russian John Simonyan, who took his maiden podium finish in the previous event at Spa-Francorchamps, will start at the back of the field after crashing his RP Motorsport machine during the session.

Monza Race 1 Qualifying Result

1 Sandy Stuvik THA RP Motorsport 1:46.760
2 Andres Saravia GTM RP Motorsport 1:47.042
3 Alex Palou ESP Campos Racing 1:47.145
4 Kevin Giovesi ITA DAV Racing 1:47.178
5 Christopher Hoher AUT BVM Racing 1:47.199
6 Yu Kanamaru JAP Emilio de Villota Motorsport 1:47.479
7 Artur Janosz POL RP Motorsport 1:47.557
8 Tanart Sathienthirakul THA Team West-Tec F3 1:47.753
9 Konstantin Tereschenko RUS Campos Racing 1:47.842
10 Wei Fung Thong HKG Team West-Tec F3 1:47.930
11 Nicholas Pohler GER Team West-Tec F3 1:47.966
12 Che-One Lim KOR Emilio de Villota Motorsport 1:47.990
13 Yarin Stern ISR Team West-Tec F3 1:48.029
14 Sean Walkinshaw GBR Campos Racing 1:48.108
15 Damiano Fioravanti ITA BVM Racing 1:48.375
16 Saud T. Al Faisal SAU RP Motorsport 1:48.388
17 Costantino Peroni ITA DAV Racing 1:48.666
18 Henrique Baptista BRZ DAV Racing 1:48.950
19 William Barbosa COL Corbetta Competizioni 1:49.815
20 John Simonyan RUS RP Motorsport 2:04.397


12479 posts

About author
Thirty-something motorsport fanatic, covering Formula 1, Formula Renault 2.0 and Formula 3. Feel free to give him a follow on Twitter at @Paul11MSport.
Related posts
EuroFormula Open

Ye Secures Double Victory at the Red Bull Ring, Maldonado Takes First EuroFormula Open Podiums

3 Mins read
Yifei Ye has now won five out of six races to start the 2020 EuroFormula Open season after a double victory at the Red Bull Ring.
EuroFormula Open

Dunner, Ye Continue Positive Start to 2020 for CryptoTower Racing

3 Mins read
CryptoTower Racing took both victories as the EuroFormula Open series hit the Circuit Paul Ricard in France for round two of 2020.
EuroFormula Open

Ye Welcomes in New Era of EuroFormula Open with Double Victory in Hungary

3 Mins read
Yifei Ye had a perfect weekend at the Hungaroring as the 2020 EuroFormula Open season finally got underway.