De Vries Closer to Title after Dominant Paul Ricard Victory

Nyck de Vries moved one step closer to the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 Series title after taking a dominant victory in the opening race at Paul Ricard on Saturday, and became the first driver to take three victories during the season.

The Koiranen GP made a great start from pole position to lead until the flag, and eventually won by over eleven seconds from Egor Orudzhev of Tech 1 Racing, who overtook Alexander Albon of KTR on the penultimate lap for second place.

Aurelien Panis took fourth for ART Junior Team ahead of Andrea Pizzitola of Manor MP Motorsport, who held off the challenge of Dennis Olsen of Prema Powerteam until the flag.

Kevin Jorg was seventh for Josef Kaufmann Racing ahead of Bruno Bonifacio of Prema Powerteam, while Gustav Malja of Josef Kaufmann Racing and Hans Villemi of Prema Powerteam completed the top ten.

De Vries’ win and Olsen’s sixth place means that the Dutch driver now has a sixty-three point lead over the Norwegian driver, and should he leave France with a lead of more than fifty points, he will be the 2014 series champion.

Paul Ricard Race 1 Result

1 Nyck de Vries NED Koiranen GP 27m27.090s
2 Egor Orudzhev RUS Tech 1 Racing +11.050s
3 Alexander Albon THA KTR +12.232s
4 Aurelien Panis FRA ART Junior Team +13.218s
5 Andrea Pizzitola FRA Manor MP Motorsport +16.426s
6 Dennis Olsen NOR Prema Powerteam +16.643s
7 Kevin Jorg SWI Josef Kaufmann Racing +20.418s
8 Bruno Bonifacio BRZ Prema Powerteam +20.782s
9 Gustav Malja SWE Josef Kaufmann Racing +27.015s
10 Hans Villemi EST Prema Powerteam +27.365s
11 Martin Rump EST Fortec Motorsports +28.361s
12 Anthoine Hubert FRA Tech 1 Racing +28.877s
13 Steijn Schothorst NED Manor MP Motorsport +29.356s
14 Ignazio d’Agosto ITA Koiranen GP +34.430s
15 Ryan Tveter USA Josef Kaufmann Racing +34.926s
16 Louis Deletraz SWI AV Formula +35.728s
17 Philo Armand INA Tech 1 Racing +38.369s
18 Hugo de Sadeleer SWI Tech 1 Racing +39.478s
19 Levin Amweg SWI ART Junior Team +42.101s
20 James Allen AUS ARTA Engineering +43.535s
21 Jack Aitken GBR Fortec Motorsports +45.234s
22 Callan O’Keeffe RSA KTR +48.667s
23 Simon Gachet FRA ART Junior Team +1m23.897s
24 Hong Li Ye CHN Koiranen GP +1 Lap
RET Jules Gounon FRA AV Formula 6 Laps
RET Matt Parry GBR Fortec Motorsports 0 Laps
RET Gregor Ramsey GBR KTR 0 Laps