Formula Renault 2.0

De Vries Takes Pole for Paul Ricard Opener

1 Mins read

Nyck de Vries took another step towards the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 Series title by claiming pole position for race 1 at Paul Ricard.

The Koiranen GP driver was quickest in group A of the session, and when group B was slower, he took top spot for this afternoon’s opening race of the weekend.

Alexander Albon continued his good form this weekend with KTR by being the faster driver in group B to join de Vries on the front row of the grid for this afternoon’s first race of the weekend.

Egor Orudzhev will start third for Tech 1 Racing after setting the second best time in group A, which will see all its drivers start on the odd-numbered side of the grid.

Andrea Pizzitola of Manor MP Motorsport will therefore start fifth, with Kevin Jorg seventh and Gustav Malja ninth for Josef Kaufmann Racing.

Aurelien Panis will start fourth for the ART Junior Team after finishing second in group B, while Tech 1 Racing’s Anthoine Hubert will start sixth.

Wild card entry Jules Gounon will start eighth for AV Formula, while Dennis Olsen, who needs to close the gap to de Vries in the championship to under fifty points this weekend to take the title race to the final races in Jerez, will start tenth for Prema Powerteam.

Paul Ricard Race 1 Qualifying Result

1 Nyck de Vries NED Koiranen GP 2:02.895
2 Alexander Albon THA KTR 2:03.209
3 Egor Orudzhev RUS Tech 1 Racing 2:03.443
4 Aurelien Panis FRA ART Junior Team 2:03.591
5 Andrea Pizzitola FRA Manor MP Motorsport 2:03.751
6 Anthoine Hubert FRA Tech 1 Racing 2:03.684
7 Kevin Jorg SWI Josef Kaufmann Racing 2:03.770
8 Jules Gounon FRA AV Formula 2:03.851
9 Gustav Majla SWE Josef Kaufmann Racing 2:03.861
10 Dennis Olsen NOR Prema Powerteam 2:03.880
11 Hans Villemi EST Prema Powerteam 2:03.862
12 Martin Rump EST Fortec Motorsports 2:03.935
13 Bruno Bonifacio BRZ Prema Powerteam 2:04.046
14 Jack Aitken GBR Fortec Motorsports 2:04.078
15 Gregor Ramsey GBR KTR 2:04.188
16 Ignazio d’Agosto ITA Koiranen GP 2:04.078
17 Steijn Schothorst NED Manor MP Motorsport 2:04.213
18 Ryan Tveter USA Josef Kaufmann Racing 2:04.172
19 Matt Parry GBR Fortec Motorsports 2:04.639
20 Levin Amweg SWI ART Junior Team 2:04.321
21 Simon Gachet FRA ART Junior Team 2:04.803
22 Callan O’Keeffe RSA KTR 2:04.913
23 Philo Armand INA Tech 1 Racing 2:05.055
24 Louis Deletraz SWI AV Formula 2:05.038
25 Hugo de Sadeleer SWI Tech 1 Racing 2:05.134
26 Hong Li Ye CHN Koiranen GP 2:05.505
27 James Allen AUS ARTA Engineering 2:05.174


12474 posts

About author
Thirty-something motorsport fanatic, covering Formula 1, Formula Renault 2.0 and Formula 3. Feel free to give him a follow on Twitter at @Paul11MSport.
Related posts
24 Hours of Le MansEuropean Le Mans SeriesFormula Renault 2.0Interviews

Confident de Sadeleer ready for LMP2 jump with United Autosports

3 Mins read
Hugo de Sadeleer is preparing himself for his rookie LMP2 campaign in ELMS in 2017, with his deal with United Autosports also providing him with his 24 Hours of Le Mans debut.
Formula Renault 2.0Season Review

2016 Formula Renault 2.0 Review – Norris does the double

4 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup and NEC championships, both of which were dominated and won by Lando Norris.
BTCCFIA WECFIA World Rally ChampionshipFormula 1Formula Renault 2.0MotoGP

2016’s Best Recognised At Annual Autosport Awards

2 Mins read
Nico Rosberg, Sebastian Ogier, Lando Norris and Gordon Shedden were amongst the winners in the 2016 Autosport Awards.