Formula Renault 2.0

Pizzitola Converts Pole into Win in Hungary

2 Mins read

After taking his second pole position of 2014 earlier in the day, Frenchman Andrea Pizzitola took his second Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 Series victory of the year at the Hungaroring.

The Manor MP Motorsport driver kept his lead at the start to hold off the challenge of wild card driver Charles Leclerc and championship leader Nyck de Vries until the chequered flag.

Fortec Motorsports driver Leclerc finished just over a second back from Pizzitola, but it will be Koiranen GP driver de Vries who scores the eighteen points that position pays, with wild card drivers not eligible for points.

Hans Villemi finished just off the podium for Prema Powerteam but was over seven seconds adrift of the top three, while Gustav Malja’s fifth place for Josef Kaufmann Racing ensured five different teams finished in the top five placings in Hungary.

Ignazio D’Agosto was sixth in the second Koiranen GP entry, ahead of Alexander Albon of KTR, while Prema Powerteam duo Bruno Bonifacio and Dennis Olsen finished eighth and ninth. Nick Cassidy completed the top ten in the third Koiranen GP entry, while Egor Orudzhev takes the last point for Tech 1 Racing despite finishing eleventh with Leclerc not scoring.

Post race, all three ART Junior Team drivers were disqualified from the race for a technicality, but Callan O’Keeffe, Aurelien Panis and Simon Gachet all finished well down the order.

De Vries now leads the championship by 44 points from Olsen, with Pizzitola third a further 12 points back.

Hungaroring Race 1 Result

1 Andrea Pizzitola FRA Manor MP Motorsport 27m54.441s
2 Charles Leclerc MON Fortec Motorsports +1.029s
3 Nyck de Vries NED Koiranen GP +1.182s
4 Hans Villemi EST Prema Powerteam +7.321s
5 Gustav Malja SWE Josef Kaufmann Racing +9.178s
6 Ignazio D’Agosto ITA Koiranen GP +9.878s
7 Alexander Albon THA KTR +10.838s
8 Bruno Bonifacio BRZ Prema Powerteam +11.605s
9 Dennis Olsen NOR Prema Powerteam +11.871s
10 Nick Cassidy NZL Koiranen GP +19.151s
11 Egor Orudzhev RUS Tech 1 Racing +19.631s
12 Matt Parry GBR Fortec Motorsports +20.869s
13 Kevin Jorg SWI Josef Kaufmann Racing +22.381s
14 Anthoine Hubert FRA Tech 1 Racing +22.994s
15 Gregor Ramsey GBR KTR +26.297s
16 Martin Rump EST Fortec Motorsports +26.951s
17 Matthew Graham GBR Strakka Racing +27.933s
18 Jack Aitken GBR Fortec Motorsports +28.539s
19 Steijn Schothorst NED Manor MP Motorsport +30.352s
20 Luke Chadleigh CAN Tech 1 Racing +36.244s
21 Vasily Romanov RUS Tech 1 Racing +37.077s
22 James Allen AUS ARTA Engineering +49.716s
23 Ryan Tveter USA Josef Kaufmann Racing +1m40.428s
24/RET Jake Hughes GBR Strakka Racing +2 Laps
DSQ Callan O’Keeffe RSA ART Junior Team
DSQ Aurelian Panis FRA ART Junior Team
DSQ Simon Gachet FRA ART Junior Team


12470 posts

About author
Thirty-something motorsport fanatic, covering Formula 1, Formula Renault 2.0 and Formula 3. Feel free to give him a follow on Twitter at @Paul11MSport.
Related posts
24 Hours of Le MansEuropean Le Mans SeriesFormula Renault 2.0Interviews

Confident de Sadeleer ready for LMP2 jump with United Autosports

3 Mins read
Hugo de Sadeleer is preparing himself for his rookie LMP2 campaign in ELMS in 2017, with his deal with United Autosports also providing him with his 24 Hours of Le Mans debut.
Formula Renault 2.0Season Review

2016 Formula Renault 2.0 Review – Norris does the double

4 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup and NEC championships, both of which were dominated and won by Lando Norris.
BTCCFIA WECFIA World Rally ChampionshipFormula 1Formula Renault 2.0MotoGP

2016’s Best Recognised At Annual Autosport Awards

2 Mins read
Nico Rosberg, Sebastian Ogier, Lando Norris and Gordon Shedden were amongst the winners in the 2016 Autosport Awards.