Formula Renault 2.0

Pizzitola on Pole for Hungaroring Opener

1 Mins read

Andrea Pizzitola took advantage of being in the faster of the two qualifying sessions to take his second Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 Series pole position of the season.

The first fifteen-minute session was held on a damp track, and while the lap times were competitive enough, the second fifteen-minute session was quicker, and it was Manor MP Motorsport driver Pizzitola who took top spot. Everyone in session two therefore will start on the odd numbered grid slots, with the drivers from session one on the even numbered grid slots.

Monegasque driver Charles Leclerc, who was the quickest driver in the opening session for Fortec Motorsports, will therefore join Pizzitola on the front row.

Estonian Hans Villemi of Prema Powerteam and current Eurocup championship leader Nyck de Vries of Koiranen GP will form row two, ahead of Josef Kaufmann Racing’s Gustav Malja and Koiranen GP duo Nick Cassidy and Ignazio D’Agosto.

KTR’s Alexander Albon will start from eighth place on the grid, ahead of Dennis Olsen of Prema Powerteam, while Matt Parry of Fortec Motorsports completes the top ten.

Hungaroring Race 1 Qualifying Times

1 Andrea Pizzitola FRA Manor MP Motorsport 1:45.253
2 Charles Leclerc MON Fortec Motorsports 1:47.859
3 Hans Villemi EST Prema Powerteam 1:45.460
4 Nyck de Vries NED Koiranen GP 1:47.903
5 Gustav Malja SWE Josef Kaufmann Racing 1:45.514
6 Nick Cassidy NZL Koiranen GP 1:48.246
7 Ignazio D’Agosto ITA Koiranen GP 1:45.742
8 Alexander Albon THA KTR 1:48.415
9 Dennis Olsen NOR Prema Powerteam 1:45.765
10 Matt Parry GBR Fortec Motorsports 1:49.756
11 Kevin Jorg SWI Josef Kaufmann Racing 1:45.853
12 Martin Rump EST Fortec Motorsports 1:50.091
13 Callan O’Keeffe RSA ART Junior Team 1:46.163
14 Bruno Bonifacio BRZ Prema Powerteam 1:50.114
15 Anthoine Hubert FRA Tech 1 Racing 1:46.259
16 Aurelian Panis FRA ART Junior Team 1:50.227
17 Egor Orudzhev RUS Tech 1 Racing 1:46.682
18 Jake Hughes GBR Strakka Racing 1:50.359
19 Steijn Schothorst NED Manor MP Motorsport 1:46.696
20 Gregor Ramsey GBR KTR 1:50.541
21 Ryan Tveter USA Josef Kaufmann Racing 1:46.792
22 Matthew Graham GBR Strakka Racing 1:50.627
23 James Allen AUS ARTA Engineering 1:46.869
24 Simon Gachet FRA ART Junior Team 1:52.409
25 Luke Chudleigh CAN Tech 1 Racing 1:48.432
26 Vasily Romanov RUS Tech 1 Racing 1:53.431
27 Jack Aitken GBR Fortec Motorsports 1:54.241


Related posts
24 Hours of Le MansEuropean Le Mans SeriesFormula Renault 2.0Interviews

Confident de Sadeleer ready for LMP2 jump with United Autosports

3 Mins read
Hugo de Sadeleer is preparing himself for his rookie LMP2 campaign in ELMS in 2017, with his deal with United Autosports also providing him with his 24 Hours of Le Mans debut.
Formula Renault 2.0Season Review

2016 Formula Renault 2.0 Review – Norris does the double

4 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup and NEC championships, both of which were dominated and won by Lando Norris.
BTCCFIA WECFIA World Rally ChampionshipFormula 1Formula Renault 2.0MotoGP

2016’s Best Recognised At Annual Autosport Awards

2 Mins read
Nico Rosberg, Sebastian Ogier, Lando Norris and Gordon Shedden were amongst the winners in the 2016 Autosport Awards.

Leave a Reply