EuroFormula Open

Race 2 Win for Stuvik Completes Perfect Weekend

1 Mins read

Sandy Stuvik took a lights-to-flag victory in race two at Spa-Francorchamps as he took control of the EuroFormula Open championship with his second win of the weekend and his fourth in a row in the series.

The RP Motorsport driver was on dominant form as he beat his team-mate Artur Janosz by over thirteen seconds, while Yu Kanamaru of Emilio de Villota Motorsport completed the podium.

Konstantin Tereschenko of Campos Racing made a good start to run second early in the race, but quickly lost places to Janosz, Kanamaru and Yarin Stern of Team West-Tec F3, before colliding with Christopher Hoher of BVM Racing and retiring.

Stern finished fourth, but Alex Palou lost ground in the championship to Stuvik by finishing down in fifth for Campos Racing, and was just about able to hold off Andres Saravia at the line, with the Guatemalan driver being forced to settle for sixth after a spin on the opening lap after starting on the front row.

Alexander Toril took seventh for Emilio de Villota Motorsport ahead of his team-mate Che-One Lim, while Saud T. Al Faisal claimed his second ninth place of the weekend for RP Motorsport ahead of Sean Walkinshaw of Campos Racing.

The next double header will be held on the historic Italian circuit of Monza at the end of September, with Stuvik heading into Italy with the aim of clinching the EuroFormula Open championship, while Palou and Janosz will be hoping to close down the gap.

Spa-Francorchamps Race 2 Result

1 Sandy Stuvik THA RP Motorsport 29m45.365s
2 Artur Janosz POL RP Motorsport +13.238s
3 Yu Kanamaru JAP Emilio de Villota Motorsport +14.177s
4 Yarin Stern ISR Team West-Tec F3 +15.381s
5 Alex Palou ESP Campos Racing +22.822s
6 Andres Saravia GTM RP Motorsport +22.873s
7 Alexander Toril ESP Emilio de Villota Motorsport +25.241s
8 Che-One Lim KOR Emilio de Villota Motorsport +31.900s
9 Saud T. Al Faisal SAU RP Motorsport +35.088s
10 Sean Walkinshaw GBR Campos Racing +36.113s
11 Costantino Peroni ITA DAV Racing +38.358s
12 Wei Fung Thong HKG Team West-Tec F3 +55.516s
13 Nicolas Pohler GER Team West-Tec F3 +57.384s
14 Henrique Baptista BRZ DAV Racing +1m12.810s
15 Christopher Hoher AUT BVM Racing +1m37.490s
16/RET John Simonyan RUS RP Motorsport +2 Laps
RET William Barbosa COL Corbetta Competizioni 9 Laps
RET Konstantin Tereschenko RUS Campos Racing 6 Laps
RET Tanart Sathienthirakul THA Team West-Tec F3 2 Laps


12479 posts

About author
Thirty-something motorsport fanatic, covering Formula 1, Formula Renault 2.0 and Formula 3. Feel free to give him a follow on Twitter at @Paul11MSport.
Related posts
EuroFormula Open

Ye Secures Double Victory at the Red Bull Ring, Maldonado Takes First EuroFormula Open Podiums

3 Mins read
Yifei Ye has now won five out of six races to start the 2020 EuroFormula Open season after a double victory at the Red Bull Ring.
EuroFormula Open

Dunner, Ye Continue Positive Start to 2020 for CryptoTower Racing

3 Mins read
CryptoTower Racing took both victories as the EuroFormula Open series hit the Circuit Paul Ricard in France for round two of 2020.
EuroFormula Open

Ye Welcomes in New Era of EuroFormula Open with Double Victory in Hungary

3 Mins read
Yifei Ye had a perfect weekend at the Hungaroring as the 2020 EuroFormula Open season finally got underway.