Formula Ford

Silverstone Win Puts Kruger in Title Contention

2 Mins read

JTR Motorsport’s title hopeful Jayde Kruger has closed the gap to his main rival Harrison Scott after claiming victory in the first of three Dunlop MSA Formula Ford Championship of Great Britain races from Silverstone. The South African brought the championship leader’s advantage down to just 13 points in the Saturday race which saw him lead from a hard won pole to the chequered flag over 22 laps of the National layout at ‘the Home of British Motorsport’. A puncture late in qualifying made even this a fantastic result for JTR.

Despite leading every inch of the race and lowering the circuit lap record for EcoBoost powered Formula Ford cars, Kruger never really managed to escape the clutches of his Falcon Motorsport rival. Also involved in a three way, long range, grapple for the lead was the MBM Motorsport run Mygale of Ashley Sutton. Three and a half seconds covered the podium positions at the end of the race but Kruger could breathe a sigh of relief late on when fuel surge issues afflicted the man who could do the most damage to his title hopes.

Only five races remain in the calendar, two of which will be contested tomorrow.

Kruger is therefore targeting a pair of wins in the Sunday action. “I made a good start off the line,” he said. “From there on I was in ‘qualifying mode’ and aiming to eke out as big a gap as possible. We won, and that’s good, but unfortunately not enough points were gained so we’ll have to do the same thing twice tomorrow.”

Sutton’s third place finish also brought him the Scholarship class victory, his fourteenth of the season. That was enough to put him within 14 points of claiming the class championship win. The MBM man’s main rival, Ricky Collard, found himself mired in a thrilling fight for fourth place after s stunning start rocketed him from sixth to fourth on the first lap. The Radical Motorsport duo of Juan Rosso and James Abbott did all they could to make life interesting for the Falcon Motorsport Scholarship runner, which finally paid off for the Radical run Briton on the 18th tour.

Abbott made the move first but Rosso soon followed him through to continue a fine intra-team battle on the final lap. The move into fifth place overall netted Rosso the improver award for his rise from ninth on the starting grid. Collard had to make do with sixth place and second in the Scholarship complaining that the car was ‘less than perfect’ which affected his speed.

The Scholarship top three was rounded out by Sutton’s MBM team mate Michael O’Brien who romped away from Richardson Racing’s Louise Richardson and Chris Mealin in the third Falcon entry. Mealin couldn’t find the pace to keep up with Richardson either which left him to fight at long range with Jessica Hawkins in the third MBM machine, who made her single seater debut at the penultimate meeting of the championship.

Hawkins can thank Clay Mitchell partially for her good first time showing. The JTR Motorsport driver was hit with a drive through for exceeding the track limits which knocked him back to eleventh place ahead of SWB Motorsport’s Greg Holloway.

Disaster struck for Max Marshall after he made an early move on Collard’s doomed fourth place. The resulting off put him out of the race, joining SWB’s Ovie Iroro who lost control on the first lap and ended up watching from behind the Armco.

Action resumes at 10:25 on Sunday with the second race of the meeting, which will be shown live on ITV4.

Related posts
Formula FordHistoric Racing

How to not sit on the sidelines - Benn Tilley's story

3 Mins read
Racing is alright when you have made it but how do you get there and what happens to all the other type of racing. This is Benn Tilley and this is his racing experience.
Formula Ford

Josh Smith Wins Double Red Flagged Festival Final

2 Mins read
A dramatic Formula Ford Festival Final saw Josh Smith take the lead on the final lap to beat favourite Niall Murray over the line.
Formula Ford

Murray and White Claim Semi Final Wins at Brands

2 Mins read
Niall Murray and Oliver White took Semi-Final victories in the Festival, while Eastwell, Middlehurst became the first major casualties.

Leave a Reply