EuroFormula Open

Six in a row as Stuvik Clinches Title in Monza

2 Mins read

Sandy Stuvik took his sixth victory in a row and a tenth of an amazing season as the Thai driver clinched the 2014 EuroFormula Open title with the race two win at Monza.

The RP Motorsport driver dominated the whole weekend in Italy, converting his second pole position into a second win as he bettered his runners-up spot from 2013 to claim the championship with two races to spare. It was also the first time in series history that one driver has won six consecutive races.

Stuvik’s RP Motorsport team-mate Artur Janosz took his second runners-up spot of the weekend to take advantage of Alex Palou’s nightmare at Monza, with the Pole now 19 points ahead of the Spaniard in second place in the championship after the Campos Racing driver could only finish a lapped sixteenth after a puncture caused in a collision with Yu Kanamaru of Emilio de Villota Motorsport and Yarin Stern of Team West-Tec F3.

Christopher Hoher took his maiden podium finish in the series for BVM Racing in third, passing wild-card runner Kevin Giovesi of DAV Racing on the final lap, with the Italian matching his race one result in race two.

Another Italian Damiano Fioravanti secured his best result of the season in fifth for BVM Racing ahead of Andres Saravia in the third RP Motorsport entry, who survived an early race spin. Che-One Lim of Emilio de Villota Motorsport held off Tanart Sathienthirakul of Team West-Tec F3 for seventh place.

Sean Walkinshaw was Campos Racing’s only points scorer of the day in ninth ahead of DAV Racing duo Costantino Peroni and Henrique Baptista who claim the final two points-paying positions with their team-mate Giovesi ineligible to score points.

Monza Race 2 Result

1 Sandy Stuvik THA RP Motorsport 28m45.781s
2 Artur Janosz POL RP Motorsport +6.948s
3 Christopher Hoher AUT BVM Racing +8.168s
4 Kevin Giovesi ITA DAV Racing +8.237s
5 Damiano Fioravanti ITA BVM Racing +19.526s
6 Andres Saravia GTM RP Motorsport +20.395s
7 Che-One Lim KOR Emilio de Villota Motorsport +28.749s
8 Tanart Sathienthirakul THA Team West-Tec F3 +28.791s
9 Sean Walkinshaw GBR Campos Racing +30.388s
10 Costantino Peroni ITA DAV Racing +37.959s
11 Henrique Baptista BRZ DAV Racing +38.588s
12 William Barbosa COL Corbetta Competizioni +40.316s
13 John Simonyan RUS RP Motorsport +1m29.695s
14/RET Yu Kanamaru JAP Emilio de Villota Motorsport +1 Lap
15 Saud T. Al Faisal SAU RP Motorsport +1 Lap
16 Alex Palou ESP Campos Racing +1 Lap
17 Konstantin Tereschenko RUS Campos Racing +1 Lap
RET Yarin Stern ISR Team West-Tec F3 11 Laps
RET Nicolas Pohler GER Team West-Tec F3 2 Laps
RET Wei Fung Thong HKG Team West-Tec F3 2 Laps


Related posts
EuroFormula Open

Ye Secures Double Victory at the Red Bull Ring, Maldonado Takes First EuroFormula Open Podiums

3 Mins read
Yifei Ye has now won five out of six races to start the 2020 EuroFormula Open season after a double victory at the Red Bull Ring.
EuroFormula Open

Dunner, Ye Continue Positive Start to 2020 for CryptoTower Racing

3 Mins read
CryptoTower Racing took both victories as the EuroFormula Open series hit the Circuit Paul Ricard in France for round two of 2020.
EuroFormula Open

Ye Welcomes in New Era of EuroFormula Open with Double Victory in Hungary

3 Mins read
Yifei Ye had a perfect weekend at the Hungaroring as the 2020 EuroFormula Open season finally got underway.

Leave a Reply