EuroFormula Open

Stuvik Continues Impressive Form in Monza Practice

1 Mins read

The leader of the EuroFormula Open championship Sandy Stuvik was fastest in free practice at Monza as he aims to clinch the title this weekend in Italy.

The RP Motorsport was in a class of his own as he aims to add to his eight wins so far in 2014, and he was the only driver to get into the 1:46s bracket during the three free practice sessions on Friday, with his best time being a 1:46.890s.

Kevin Giovesi, joining the series this weekend in front of his home fans during the mid-season break in the Auto GP World Series, was second fastest for DAV Racing, but was 0.350s adrift of Stuvik. Giovesi may be racing in Monza, but he is ineligible for points this weekend.

Alex Palou, the closest challenger to Stuvik in the championship, was third fastest for Campos Racing, ahead of Yu Kanamaru of Emilio de Villota Motorsport and Christopher Hoher of BVM Racing, who made it five different teams in the top five places.

Andres Saravia was sixth for RP Motorsport ahead of Konstantin Tereschenko of Campos Racing, while Artur Janosz, third in the championship with an outside chance of still taking the title for RP Motorsport eighth. Tanart Sathienthirakul was ninth in the leading Team West-Tec F3 machine, while Damiano Fioravanti of BVM Racing rounded out the top ten.

The first qualifying session and race one take place on Saturday, with the second qualifying session and race taking place on Sunday.

Monza Free Practice Results (Combined)

1 Sandy Stuvik THA RP Motorsport 1:46.890
2 Kevin Giovesi ITA DAV Racing 1:47.240
3 Alex Palou ESP Campos Racing 1:47.388
4 Yu Kanamaru JAP Emilio de Villota Motorsport 1:47.455
5 Christopher Hoher AUT BVM Racing 1:47.530
6 Andres Saravia GTM RP Motorsport 1:47.538
7 Konstantin Tereschenko RUS Campos Racing 1:47.546
8 Artur Janosz POL RP Motorsport 1:47.554
9 Tanart Sathienthirakul THA Team West-Tec F3 1:47.587
10 Damiano Fioravanti ITA BVM Racing 1:47.933
11 Yarin Stern ISR Team West-Tec F3 1:47.945
12 Wei Fung Thong HKG Team West-Tec F3 1:48.036
13 John Simonyan RUS RP Motorsport 1:48.068
14 Henrique Baptista BRZ DAV Racing 1:48.113
15 Sean Walkinshaw GBR Campos Racing 1:48.124
16 Costantino Peroni ITA DAV Racing 1:48.181
17 Che-One Lim KOR Emilio de Villota Motorsport 1:48.236
18 Nicholas Pohler GER Team West-Tec F3 1:48.436
19 William Barbosa COL Corbetta Competizioni 1:48.574
20 Saud T. Al Faisal SAU RP Motorsport 1:50.101


12479 posts

About author
Thirty-something motorsport fanatic, covering Formula 1, Formula Renault 2.0 and Formula 3. Feel free to give him a follow on Twitter at @Paul11MSport.
Related posts
EuroFormula Open

Ye Secures Double Victory at the Red Bull Ring, Maldonado Takes First EuroFormula Open Podiums

3 Mins read
Yifei Ye has now won five out of six races to start the 2020 EuroFormula Open season after a double victory at the Red Bull Ring.
EuroFormula Open

Dunner, Ye Continue Positive Start to 2020 for CryptoTower Racing

3 Mins read
CryptoTower Racing took both victories as the EuroFormula Open series hit the Circuit Paul Ricard in France for round two of 2020.
EuroFormula Open

Ye Welcomes in New Era of EuroFormula Open with Double Victory in Hungary

3 Mins read
Yifei Ye had a perfect weekend at the Hungaroring as the 2020 EuroFormula Open season finally got underway.