Formula Renault 2.0

Fittipaldi and Riener join Koiranen GP for Eurocup finale

1 Mins read

Nineteen-year-old Austrian driver Stephan Riener and eighteen-year-old Brazilian Pietro Fittipaldi will be wild card drivers for the Koiranen GP team in the series finale of the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 Series this weekend at Jerez.

Riener has been competing in the Formula Renault 2.0 Northern European Cup (NEC) this season for Speedfish Racing, racing fifteen times and finished the season eleventh in the final championship standings.   He also competed in six races in the Formula Renault 2.0 ALPS championship for Cram Motorsport.

Fittipaldi, the grandson of two-time former Formula 1 World Champion Emerson Fittipaldi, was victorious in the Formula Renault 2.0 UK BRDC championship in 2014, and also competed in ALPS for MGR Motorsport before switching to Koiranen GP for the final race of the season.

“Riener and Fittipaldi will be competing for the first time in the Eurocup Championship this coming weekend and the competition will be tough as part from the 2014 season winner Nyck de Vries, there will be other very strong contenders in Jerez,” said Koiranen CEO Afa Heikkinen. “Nyck de Vries will be a competitive advantage for Stephan and Pietro as the rookies will be able to rely on De Vries datas from the last ALPS race which he won.

“We are aiming for a top 10 this weekend, and I am confident we can reach it. But the essential work will be for Stephan to adapt to the team and to our car for the first outing with us and for Pietro, he will have to put into practice everything we have learnt from last time in Jerez.”

As wild card entries, neither driver will be eligible to score points in Jerez, with Riener carrying the #62 and Fittipaldi the #58.

Related posts
24 Hours of Le MansEuropean Le Mans SeriesFormula Renault 2.0Interviews

Confident de Sadeleer ready for LMP2 jump with United Autosports

3 Mins read
Hugo de Sadeleer is preparing himself for his rookie LMP2 campaign in ELMS in 2017, with his deal with United Autosports also providing him with his 24 Hours of Le Mans debut.
Formula Renault 2.0Season Review

2016 Formula Renault 2.0 Review – Norris does the double

4 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup and NEC championships, both of which were dominated and won by Lando Norris.
BTCCFIA WECFIA World Rally ChampionshipFormula 1Formula Renault 2.0MotoGP

2016’s Best Recognised At Annual Autosport Awards

2 Mins read
Nico Rosberg, Sebastian Ogier, Lando Norris and Gordon Shedden were amongst the winners in the 2016 Autosport Awards.

Leave a Reply