Formula Renault 2.0

Koiranen GP clinch Teams’ title as de Vries takes win number five

2 Mins read

Nyck de Vries took his fifth Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 Series victory of the season as Koiranen GP clinched the Teams’ title in Spain.

The Dutchman shadowed pole sitter Dennis Olsen before overtaking the Norwegian driver on the eighth lap, and remained at the front of the field ahead of the Prema Powerteam driver until the end. Jack Aitken completed the podium for Fortec Motorsports.

Aitken and Alexander Albon of KTR managed to jump ahead of Hans Villemi of Prema Powerteam at the start, but Villemi managed to get back into fourth, while Albon ended the race fifth, and had to fight off the challenge of George Russell of Tech 1 Racing at the end, with the two ending 0.085s apart.

Russell’s team-mate Anthoine Hubert finished seventh ahead of Bruno Bonifacio of Prema Powerteam, while Steijn Schothorst of Manor MP Motorsport and Aurelien Panis of ART Junior Team completed the top ten.

A safety car was deployed at the end of the first lap after two incidents saw six drivers retire on the first tour. Koiranen GP wild card entries Stefan Riener and Hong Li Ye collided, while British drivers Matt Parry (Fortec Motorsports), Jake Hughes (Strakka Racing) and Ben Barnicoat (Fortec Motorsports) all came to grief after being unable to avoid the spun Kevin Jorg of Josef Kaufmann Racing.

Jerez Race 1 Result

1 Nyck de Vries NED Koiranen GP 26m50.178s
2 Dennis Olsen NOR Prema Powerteam +1.064s
3 Jack Aitken GBR Fortec Motorsports +3.162s
4 Hans Villemi EST Prema Powerteam +5.588s
5 Alexander Albon THA KTR +10.603s
6 George Russell GBR Tech 1 Racing +10.688s
7 Anthoine Hubert FRA Tech 1 Racing +11.093s
8 Bruno Bonifacio BRZ Prema Powerteam +11.669s
9 Steijn Schothorst NED Manor MP Motorsport +12.203s
10 Aurelien Panis FRA ART Junior Team +13.546s
11 Callan O’Keeffe RSA KTR +16.091s
12 Egor Orudzhev RUS Tech 1 Racing +16.542s
13 Levin Amweg SWI ART Junior Team +20.723s
14 Andrea Pizzitola FRA Manor MP Motorsport +21.831s
15 Gregor Ramsey GBR KTR +22.522s
16 Martin Rump EST Fortec Motorsports +22.911s
17 Simon Gachet FRA ART Junior Team +23.963s
18 James Allen AUS ARTA Engineering +26.313s
19 Thiago Vivacqua BRZ JD Motorsport +27.137s
20 Danylo Pronenko RUS BVM Racing +31.828s
RET Pietro Fittipaldi BRZ Koiranen GP 11 Laps
RET Gustav Malja SWE Josef Kaufmann Racing 2 Laps
RET Matt Parry GBR Fortec Motorsports 0 Laps
RET Kevin Jorg SWI Josef Kaufmann Racing 0 Laps
RET Hong Li Ye CHN Koiranen GP 0 Laps
RET Stefan Riener AUT Koiranen GP 0 Laps
RET Ben Barnicoat GBR Fortec Motorsports 0 Laps
RET Jake Hughes GBR Strakka Racing 0 Laps


Related posts
24 Hours of Le MansEuropean Le Mans SeriesFormula Renault 2.0Interviews

Confident de Sadeleer ready for LMP2 jump with United Autosports

3 Mins read
Hugo de Sadeleer is preparing himself for his rookie LMP2 campaign in ELMS in 2017, with his deal with United Autosports also providing him with his 24 Hours of Le Mans debut.
Formula Renault 2.0Season Review

2016 Formula Renault 2.0 Review – Norris does the double

4 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup and NEC championships, both of which were dominated and won by Lando Norris.
BTCCFIA WECFIA World Rally ChampionshipFormula 1Formula Renault 2.0MotoGP

2016’s Best Recognised At Annual Autosport Awards

2 Mins read
Nico Rosberg, Sebastian Ogier, Lando Norris and Gordon Shedden were amongst the winners in the 2016 Autosport Awards.

Leave a Reply