Russell strides to final race win at Jerez

by Paul Hensby

Wild card entry George Russell converted his maiden Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 Series pole position into his maiden victory, as the Tech 1 Racing driver led from start to finish at Jerez to conclude the season.

Despite Russell taking the victory, Koiranen GP driver Nyck de Vries took the twenty-five points on offer for the win, with wild card drivers not eligible to score points.

De Vries, Kevin Jorg and Jack Aitken all got the better of front row starter Alexander Albon at the start, with the Thai KTR driver falling to fifth. Fortec Motorsports driver Aitken passed Jorg at the restart after a safety car period to clear up a crash between Martin Rump and Egor Orudzhev on lap two, and the trio up front pulled away.

Jorg held off a train of cars to take fourth for Josef Kaufmann Racing ahead of Albon, Matt Parry of Fortec Motorsports, Dennis Olsen of Prema Powerteam, Jake Hughes of Strakka Racing and Steijn Schothorst of Manor MP Motorsport, with the six drivers covered by 1.656s at the flag.

Gustav Malja completed the top ten for Josef Kaufmann Racing, with the Swede holding off another group of cars that were nose to tail at the chequered flag. With both Russell and Hughes ineligible to score points as wild card entries, Callan O’Keeffe of KTR and Hans Villemi of Prema Powerteam rounded out the points scorers despite finishing eleventh and twelfth.

Olsen’s seventh place secured him second place in the championship ahead of Albon, who jumped ahead of Andrea Pizzitola who endured a tough weekend for Manor MP Motorsport that saw him fail to score any points all weekend.

Jerez Race 2 Result

1 George Russell GBR Tech 1 Racing 27m57.026s
2 Nyck de Vries NED Koiranen GP +1.561s
3 Jack Aitken GBR Fortec Motorsports +2.403s
4 Kevin Jorg SWI Josef Kaufmann Racing +12.013s
5 Alexander Albon THA KTR +12.193s
6 Matt Parry GBR Fortec Motorsports +12.850s
7 Dennis Olsen NOR Prema Powerteam +13.033s
8 Jake Hughes GBR Strakka Racing +13.376s
9 Steijn Schothorst NED Manor MP Motorsport +13.669s
10 Gustav Malja SWE Josef Kaufmann Racing +17.957s
11 Callan O’Keeffe RSA KTR +18.251s
12 Hans Villemi EST Prema Powerteam +18.557s
13 Bruno Bonifacio BRZ Prema Powerteam +19.355s
14 Pietro Fittipaldi BRZ Koiranen GP +21.504s
15 Thiago Vivacqua BRZ JD Motorsport +22.439s
16 Anthoine Hubert FRA Tech 1 Racing +23.057s
17 Aurelien Panis FRA ART Junior Team +23.490s
18 Gregor Ramsey GBR KTR +23.511s
19 Levin Amweg SWI ART Junior Team +23.856s
20 Simon Gachet FRA ART Junior Team +24.328s
21 Stefan Riener AUT Koiranen GP +25.009s
22 Andrea Pizzitola FRA Manor MP Motorsport +25.873s
23 Hong Li Ye CHN Koiranen GP +26.573s
24 James Allen AUS ARTA Engineering +27.863s
25 Danylo Pronenko RUS BVM Racing +35.719s
RET Martin Rump EST Fortec Motorsports 2 Laps
RET Egor Orudzhev RUS Tech 1 Racing 2 Laps
DNS Ben Barnicoat GBR Fortec Motorsports 0 Laps


Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More