French F4

Sorensen secures French F4 title after Race 3 victory

2 Mins read

Lasse Sorensen was confirmed as the 2014 French F4 Champion after taking victory in race three of the Jerez round in Spain.

The Danish driver took his championship lead to over 100 points with the win, plus a runners-up spot in race one and a seventh place in race two as the series ran outside France for the only time in 2014.

Australian Joseph Mawson took the spoils in the opening race of the weekend in Spain, securing his first victory since the opening weekend of the season at Le Mans in April, with Sorensen finishing second, while Mexican Patricio O’Ward finished third for his first podium finish of the season.

Dorian Boccolacci finished fourth ahead of fellow Frenchman Valentin Moineault, with Russian Denis Bulatov finishing sixth ahead of Swiss driver David Droux. Finnish driver Niclas Nylund was eighth ahead of two more drivers from Switzerland in the form of Paul Hokfelt Jr and Gjergj Haxhiu.

Haxhiu’s tenth place finish in race one meant he took pole position for race two, and the Swiss-Albanian driver went on to take his maiden French F4 victory ahead of Droux, while Nylund completed the podium, who was able to take advantage of a collision between Hokfelt Jr and Mawson that eliminated both drivers and cause a safety car to be deployed.

Moineault would take fourth ahead of Bulatov, Boccolacci, Sorensen and O’Ward, with Anglo-Swiss driver Felix Hirsiger ninth ahead of Frenchman Valentin Hasse-Clot.

Sorensen got the best of Mawson for the race three victory, managing to pass the Australian a few laps from the end to take his seventh victory of the season and the championship. Mawson held on for second with Moineault finishing third.

Nylund took fourth ahead of O’Ward, Haxhiu and Frenchman Bryan Elpitiya, who climbed from fifteenth to finish seventh. Hokfelt Jr recovered from his race two retirement to finish eighth ahead of Russian Vladimir Atoev and Droux.

With the championship won, the focus will now turn to see who can finish as runner-up to Sorensen during next weekend’s season finale at Paul Ricard, with Boccolacci and Hirsiger separated by only five points, while Mawson

Jerez Race 1 Result

1 Joseph Mawson AUS 12 Laps
2 Lasse Sorensen DEN +1.237s
3 Patricio O’Ward MEX +2.705s
4 Dorian Boccolacci FRA +5.293s
5 Valentin Moineault FRA +5.804s
6 Denis Bulatov RUS +8.461s
7 David Droux SWI +10.067s
8 Niclas Nylund FIN +10.797s
9 Paul Hokfelt Jr SWI +11.166s
10 Gjergj Haxhiu SWI +16.140s

Jerez Race 2 Result

1 Gjergj Haxhiu SWI 11 Laps
2 David Droux SWI +0.804s
3 Niclas Nylund FIN +1.596s
4 Valentin Moineault FRA +2.336s
5 Denis Bulatov RUS +3.125s
6 Dorian Boccolacci FRA +3.938s
7 Lasse Sorensen DEN +5.267s
8 Patricio O’Ward MEX +6.281s
9 Felix Hirsiger GBR +7.924s
10 Valentin Hasse-Clot FRA +8.866s

Jerez Race 3 Result

1 Lasse Sorensen DEN 12 Laps
2 Joseph Mawson AUS +3.526s
3 Valentin Moineault FRA +3.640s
4 Niclas Nylund FIN +11.098s
5 Patricio O’Ward MEX +12.078s
6 Gjergj Haxhiu SWI +12.136s
7 Bryan Elpitiya FRA +13.850s
8 Paul Hokfelt Jr SWI +15.001s
9 Vladimir Atoev RUS +16.100s
10 David Droux SWI +16.150s


Related posts
EuroFormula OpenFrench F4Italian F4Super Formula

Junior Single Seater Race Weekend Round-Up – 17-19 May 2019

10 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the race weekends in Pau for EuroFormula Open and French F4, Autopolis for Super Formula and Misano for Italian Formula 4.
French F4Super Formula

Junior Single Seater Race Weekend Round-up – 19-22 April 2019

5 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the opening weekend of Super Formula at Suzuka, while the French F4 championship also begun at Nogaro.
ADAC Formula 4F4 British ChampionshipFormula 4French F4Italian F4Season Review

2018 International Formula 4 Season Reviews

10 Mins read
TCF takes a look at the FIA Formula 4 series and the new stars that emerged from the around the world in 2018.

Leave a Reply