Formula Renault 2.0

Wild Card entry Russell takes final pole of 2014

1 Mins read

Wild card entry George Russell took a surprise pole position for the final race of the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 Series season at Jerez.

The Tech 1 Racing driver was fastest in Group A of the two-part qualifying session, setting a best lap time of 1:39.691s.

Alexander Albon will join Russell on the front row after topping Group B, but his best time of 1:40.076s was not enough to take the KTR driver to pole position.

2014 series champion Nyck de Vries will start third for Koiranen GP ahead of Kevin Jorg of Josef Kaufmann Racing, who were second fastest in their respective qualifying groups.

Jack Aitken will start fifth in the leading Fortec Motorsports entry alongside team-mate Matt Parry, while Egor Orudzhev will start seventh for Tech 1 Racing.

Dennis Olsen, who is embroiled in a battle with Albon and Andrea Pizzitola for second place in the championship, will start eighth for Prema Powerteam after being disqualified from the first race on Saturday. Olsen leads Pizzitola, who starts twenty-first, by eight points, while Albon is only a further three points behind.

Another wild card entry Jake Hughes will start an impressive ninth for Strakka Racing, while Steijn Schothorst completes the top ten for Manor MP Motorsport.

Jerez Race 2 Qualifying Times

1 George Russell GBR Tech 1 Racing 1:39.691
2 Alexander Albon THA KTR 1:40.076
3 Nyck de Vries NED Koiranen GP 1:39.761
4 Kevin Jorg SWI Josef Kaufmann Racing 1:40.431
5 Jack Aitken GBR Fortec Motorsports 1:39.824
6 Matt Parry GBR Fortec Motorsports 1:40.533
7 Egor Orudzhev RUS Tech 1 Racing 1:40.066
8 Dennis Olsen NOR Prema Powerteam 1:40.585
9 Jake Hughes GBR Strakka Racing 1:40.123
10 Steijn Schothorst NED Manor MP Motorsport 1:40.782
11 Gustav Malja SWE Josef Kaufmann Racing 1:40.253
12 Martin Rump EST Fortec Motorsports 1:40.839
13 Callan O’Keeffe RSA KTR 1:40.259
14 Hans Villemi EST Prema Powerteam 1:40.879
15 Anthoine Hubert FRA Tech 1 Racing 1:40.299
16 Pietro Fittipaldi BRZ Koiranen GP 1:40.986
17 Thiago Vivacqua BRZ JD Motorsport 1:40.368
18 Bruno Bonifacio BRZ Prema Powerteam 1:41.075
19 Aurelien Panis FRA ART Junior Team 1:40.700
20 Gregor Ramsey GBR KTR 1:41.392
21 Andrea Pizzitola FRA Manor MP Motorsport 1:40.904
22 Levin Amweg SWI ART Junior Team 1:41.445
23 Ben Barnicoat GBR Fortec Motorsports 1:41.061
24 James Allen AUS ARTA Engineering 1:41.844
25 Simon Gachet FRA ART Junior Team 1:41.066
26 Stefan Riener AUT Koiranen GP 1:42.313
27 Hong Li Ye CHN Koiranen GP 1:41.067
28 Danylo Pronenko RUS BVM Racing 1:43.346


Related posts
24 Hours of Le MansEuropean Le Mans SeriesFormula Renault 2.0Interviews

Confident de Sadeleer ready for LMP2 jump with United Autosports

3 Mins read
Hugo de Sadeleer is preparing himself for his rookie LMP2 campaign in ELMS in 2017, with his deal with United Autosports also providing him with his 24 Hours of Le Mans debut.
Formula Renault 2.0Season Review

2016 Formula Renault 2.0 Review – Norris does the double

4 Mins read
The Checkered Flag looks back at the Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup and NEC championships, both of which were dominated and won by Lando Norris.
BTCCFIA WECFIA World Rally ChampionshipFormula 1Formula Renault 2.0MotoGP

2016’s Best Recognised At Annual Autosport Awards

2 Mins read
Nico Rosberg, Sebastian Ogier, Lando Norris and Gordon Shedden were amongst the winners in the 2016 Autosport Awards.

Leave a Reply