Alex Palou puts Campos Racing on pole for season finale

Alex Palou took his third pole position of his maiden single-seater season for the final race of the EuroFormula Open Championship in front of his home fans at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya.

The Campos Racing driver set a best lap of 1:40.949s to take top spot, and will be joined on the front row by Nelson Mason of Emilio de Villota Motorsport, with the Canadian driver having joined the series for this weekend’s races.

Yarin Stern of Team West-Tec F3 continued his good form this weekend with another third place start, ahead of series champion Sandy Stuvik, who could not copy his Saturday qualifying efforts where he took pole position, this time having to settle for fourth on the grid.

Stuvik’s RP Motorsport team-mate Artur Janosz, who is involved in a battle with Palou for second place in the championship, will start from fifth on the grid, and cannot afford to drop more than ten points to the Spanish driver or else Palou will snatch P2 from the Pole.

Italian Damiano Fioravanti was an excellent sixth for BVM Racing ahead of Japanese driver Yu Kanamaru of Emilio de Villota Motorsport, while John Simonyan of RP Motorsport with start eighth.

Tanart Sathienthirakul will start the season finale from ninth place for Team West-Tec F3, while FIA European Formula 3 Championship refugee Michele Beretta of BVM Racing completes the top ten.

Circuit de Catalunya Race 2 Qualifying Times

1 Alex Palou ESP Campos Racing 1:40.949
2 Nelson Mason CAN Emilio de Villota Motorsport 1:41.118
3 Yarin Stern ISR Team West-Tec F3 1:41.162
4 Sandy Stuvik THA RP Motorsport 1:41.213
5 Artur Janosz POL RP Motorsport 1:41.239
6 Damiano Fioravanti ITA BVM Racing 1:41.322
7 Yu Kanamaru JAP Emilio de Villota Motorsport 1:41.356
8 John Simonyan RUS RP Motorsport 1:41.403
9 Tanart Sathienthirakul THA Team West-Tec F3 1:41.473
10 Michele Beretta ITA BVM Racing 1:41.503
11 Alessio Rovera ITA Corbetta Competizioni 1:41.657
12 Sean Walkinshaw GBR Campos Racing 1:41.739
13 Konstantin Tereschenko RUS Campos Racing 1:41.812
14 Che-One Lim KOR Emilio de Villota Motorsport 1:41.825
15 Fabian Schiller GER Team West-Tec F3 1:41.843
16 Leonardo Pulcini ITA DAV Racing 1:41.881
17 Andres Saravia GTM RP Motorsport 1:41.933
18 Igor Walilko POL Team West-Tec F3 1:42.137
19 Wei Fung Thong HKG Team West-Tec F3 1:42.233
20 Igor Urien ESP DAV Racing 1:42.308
21 Henrique Baptista BRZ DAV Racing 1:42.663
22 Saud T. Al Faisal SAU RP Motorsport 1:42.783
23 William Barbosa COL Corbetta Competizioni 1:43.531