Huff Steals Seventh Macau Victory in 2014 WTCC Finale

by Peter Allen
Rob Huff - Photo Credit: FIA WTCC

Rob Huff claimed his seventh World Touring Car Championship win in Macau in as many years in the final race of the 2014 season.

Lada driver Huff ran second for the majority of the race behind Tiago Montiero, who was on course for his first win of the year after bursting through from fourth on the grid to lead by the first corner as front row starters Hugo Valente and Tom Chilton got poor starts.

Monteiro’s race collapsed at the end of the penultimate lap when he suffered a power steering failure and slowed, handing the lead to Huff.

Huff had already spent much of the race defending at Lisboa from Yvan Muller and managed to do the same again on the final tour to secure his and Lada’s second win of the year.

Valente challenged Monteiro for the lead at Lisboa on the first lap only to lose places when he ran deep, but the Frenchman recovered to take his third podium of the campaign.

Close behind were Norbert Michelisz, champion Jose Maria Lopez and Sebastien Loeb. Chevrolet drivers Chilton and Tom Coronel were seventh and eighth respectively, with the second Lada of James Thompson in ninth. Macau veteran Franz Engstler completed the top ten.

Ma Qing Hua was challenging Coronel when he went head on into the barriers at the final corner, triggering the day’s only safety car with three laps left.

Gabriele Tarquini withdrew before the race with sickness, and Mehdi Bennani was also unable to start as the result of the damage sustained in his race one crash.

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More