EuroFormula Open

Palou dominates season finale but misses out on P2 in Championship

2 Mins read

Alex Palou ended the seven-race winning streak of Sandy Stuvik to claim victory in the final EuroFormula Open race of the year at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya, but the result was not enough to claim second place in the championship.

Palou led from start to finish in the finale for Campos Racing, but Artur Janosz’s fourth place was enough for the Polish driver to finish ahead of the Spaniard in the championship by a single point.

Nelson Mason took second for Emilio de Villota Motorsport, but with the Canadian not scoring or blocking points this weekend as a guest driver, this helped Janosz claim the extra points he needed to stay ahead of Palou, as did a move on his RP Motorsport team-mate Stuvik.

Yarin Stern finished third on the road for Team West-Tec F3 but scored the points on offer for second place, ahead of Janosz and 2014 series champion Stuvik, who finished nose-to-tail in fourth and fifth.

Yu Kanamaru was sixth for Emilio de Villota Motorsport, finishing almost six seconds clear of the third RP Motorsport entry of John Simonyan, with Leonardo Pulcini eighth for DAV Racing.

Tanart Sathienthirakul was ninth for Team West-Tec F3 ahead of the two BVM Racing entries, with Michele Beretta ahead of Damiano Fioravanti.

With Mason and Beretta not eligible to score points in Catalunya, Fioravanti and Andres Saravia of RP Motorsport scored the final points of the season despite finishing outside the top ten in eleventh and twelfth.

Palou might have missed out on second place in the EuroFormula Open championship to Janosz, but the Spaniard did claim second in the Spanish Formula 3 championship battle with the Polish driver. Stuvik, who was the dominant driver in 2014, won both championships comfortably.

Circuit de Catalunya Race 2 Result

1 Alex Palou ESP Campos Racing 29m19.763s
2 Nelson Mason CAN Emilio de Villota Motorsport +5.744s
3 Yarin Stern ISR Team West-Tec F3 +7.533s
4 Artur Janosz POL RP Motorsport +15.572s
5 Sandy Stuvik THA RP Motorsport +15.926s
6 Yu Kanamaru JAP Emilio de Villota Motorsport +18.971s
7 John Simonyan RUS RP Motorsport +24.398s
8 Leonardo Pulcini ITA DAV Racing +26.790s
9 Tanart Sathienthirakul THA Team West-Tec F3 +27.552s
10 Michele Beretta ITA BVM Racing +28.263s
11 Damiano Fioravanti ITA BVM Racing +29.643s
12 Andres Saravia GTM RP Motorsport +31.764s
13 Fabian Schiller GER Team West-Tec F3 +32.369s
14 Igor Walilko POL Team West-Tec F3 +35.300s
15 Igor Urien ESP DAV Racing +37.408s
16 Konstantin Tereschenko RUS Campos Racing +38.395s
17 Wei Fung Thong HKG Team West-Tec F3 +47.161s
18 William Barbosa COL Corbetta Competizioni +56.390s
19 Saud T. Al Faisal SAU RP Motorsport +57.262s
RET Che-One Lim KOR Emilio de Villota Motorsport 6 Laps
RET Sean Walkinshaw GBR Campos Racing 5 Laps
RET Henrique Baptista BRZ DAV Racing 4 Laps
DNS Alessio Rovera ITA Corbetta Competizioni 0 Laps


13769 posts

About author
Long time motorsport fanatic, covering Formula 1 and the occassional other series. Feel free to give him a follow on Twitter at @Paul11MSport.
Related posts
EuroFormula Open

Ye Secures Double Victory at the Red Bull Ring, Maldonado Takes First EuroFormula Open Podiums

3 Mins read
Yifei Ye has now won five out of six races to start the 2020 EuroFormula Open season after a double victory at the Red Bull Ring.
EuroFormula Open

Dunner, Ye Continue Positive Start to 2020 for CryptoTower Racing

3 Mins read
CryptoTower Racing took both victories as the EuroFormula Open series hit the Circuit Paul Ricard in France for round two of 2020.
EuroFormula Open

Ye Welcomes in New Era of EuroFormula Open with Double Victory in Hungary

3 Mins read
Yifei Ye had a perfect weekend at the Hungaroring as the 2020 EuroFormula Open season finally got underway.