Jake Hughes joins Koiranen GP’s 2015 line-up

by Paul Hensby

Briton Jake Hughes will compete in the Eurocup and Formula Renault 2.0 ALPS Series’ with Koiranen GP in 2015.

Having competed sparingly in the Eurocup series in 2014 – he raced once for Mark Burnett Motorsport at Spa Francorchamps and twice for Strakka Racing at the Nurburgring and Jerez – Hughes will race full-time in 2015, starting with the season opener at Motorland Aragon in April, with additional races to be held at Spa, the Hungaroring, Silverstone, the Nurburgring, Le Mans and Jerez.

By then Hughes will already have started his ALPS season, with that series starting on April 12th at the Italian circuit of Imola, before visiting Pau, Spielberg, Spa, Monza, Mugello and Jerez.

“I felt most at home with Koiranen GP,” insisted Hughes. “Testing has gone really well and the detail that the team considers is amazing. I have already learnt a huge amount.

“We had some tough choices to make between teams but I am really really happy to be with Koiranen GP now.”

Koiranen GP CEO Afa Heikkinen welcomed Hughes to his championship winning team and believes the Briton will arrive in the opening events of the season with confidence from his 2014 outings.

“I am very pleased to welcome Jake in Koiranen GP for the coming season,” said Heikkinen. “He has proved during the winter testing time that he will be a very tough contender to the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 title.

“We hope Jake will benefit from our previous years experience and successes in the category to perform and achieve his goal.”

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More