Aitken added to Koiranen GP 2015 line-up

by Paul Hensby

Koiranen GP have announced that British-Korean driver Jack Aitken will race for their Formula Renault 2.0 team in both the Eurocup and ALPS series.

The eighteen-year-old joins Briton Jake Hughes and Australian Anton de Pasquale in the team, and will be looking to build on his 2014 campaign when, racing for Fortec Motorsports, he took his first victory in Eurocup, winning at the Hungaroring.

“I have tested with several excellent teams this winter, and Koiranen particularly impressed me with their quiet but highly professional approach in the garage and an ability to give me a fast and reliable car,” said Aitken. “This is an important year for me as I’ll be looking to carry my momentum from last year into the first round, and to challenge for the top spot from the word go.

“The start of the season can’t come soon enough, and I’m looking forward to my year with Koiranen GP.”

Koiranen GP CEO Afa Heikkinen believes the signing of Aitken increases the potential his 2015 line-up possesses, and expects him to work well alongside Hughes and de Pasquale this year.

“We are sure Jack [is going to] perform straight from the start next season,” said Heikkinen. “Following his strong end of season, he will be at the forefront and one of a major actors of 2015 in Formula Renault 2.0.

“We think we have a strong line-up so far, Jake and Jack will work together, learn together and bring lots of info to rookie, but quick-learner Anton.”

The ALPS season begins at Imola on the 11th/12th of April, while the Eurocup season begins at Motorland Aragon in Spain on the 25th/26th April.

Related articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More