Motorsports Hall of Fame of America Inductees Visit Daytona Rising

1 Mins read

Motorsports Hall of Fame of America inductees Ricky Carmichael and Tommy Kendall were given a first hand experience of the on-going Daytona Rising construction project prior to the Rolex 24 at Daytona.

Motocross legend Carmichael and sportscar racing legend Kendall were on hand to experience the upgraded front-stretch grandstands at the Daytona International Speedway.

The western section of the main grandstand features 40,000 new seats, as part of the larger scale $400 million Daytona Rising project. The project is scheduled to finish in early 2016.

Carmichael and Kendall were inducted into the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America class of 2015 in a meeting at Daytona’s media centre on Friday (January 23).

“I am honored and humbled to be inducted into the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America,” said Carmichael at the announcement of his induction. “As a kid growing up racing dirt bikes I never would have thought something like this was possible for me.

“To be in the company of some of the greatest names in motorsports is surreal. As you look at all of the great athletes and people that are in the Hall of Fame, it is hard for me to believe that I will be included among names like Ward, Hannah, Earnhardt, Petty or Garlits. This recognition is truly an honor.”

“A lot of the names on this year’s hall of fame are heroes of mine,” added Kendall. “[Being on the same list] doesn’t really compute. I’ve been lucky to have good things happen during my career.

“To be mentioned with names like that … at the end of the day it’s nice to be recognized for the work you did.”

Five other members were handpicked by a panel of adjudicators, including former NASCAR star Mark Martin, six time NHRA Pro-Stock champion Warren Johnson and the late Lloyd Ruby.

Pre and post-war Midgets driver and multiple Indy 500 entry Duke Nalon and off-road legend Walker Evans complete the list.

“This year’s class truly reflects the wide range of American motorsports – which has always been the foundation for our facility,” said Ron Watson, president of the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America. “These gentlemen achieved success on two wheels and four, on dirt and pavement, on every kind of track – plus off the road entirely.”

The official ceremony for the seven new inductees will take place at the Fillmore Theatre in Detroit on June 18.

Related posts

Helio Castroneves returns to full-time IndyCar with MSR, Jack Harvey departing for 2022

3 Mins read
In 2022, Hélio Castroneves will race full-time in IndyCar for the first time since 2017 for Meyer Shank Racing. Conversely, Jack Harvey will leave the team, with his replacement yet to be named.

Ferrucci, Hy-Vee Return to Rahal Letterman Lanigan for Music City Grand Prix

1 Mins read
Santino Ferrucci and primary sponsor Hy-Vee partner with Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing for a fifth race this season.

Chase Elliott ends inaugural SRX season with Nashville win, founder Tony Stewart takes title

2 Mins read
A pair of NASCAR Cup champions celebrated the end of the inaugural Superstar Racing Experience season on Saturday when reigning champ Chase Elliott won the finale at Nashville, while three-time Cup winner and SRX co-founder Tony Stewart took home the championship.

Leave a Reply