Charlie Eastwood confirms Eurocup move with Strakka

Strakka Racing have announced that multiple Karting champion Charlie Eastwood will race for their Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 outfit in 2015.

Northern Irish racer Eastwood is the first driver to be confirmed for the team’s first full season in Eurocup, having tested the waters last year with a handful of appearances with Britons Jake Hughes and Matthew Graham.

Eastwood recently returned home following competing in the New Zealand based Toyota Racing Series, where he finished seventh overall, taking three podium finishes along the way. In 2014, he raced in the BRDC Formula 4 Championship, finishing tenth in the championship with two podium finishes coming in the final rounds at Snetterton.

“We tested really well with Strakka and coming to see the workshops confirmed this is where we want to race,” said Eastwood.

“We had a good test and we just instinctively knew that was where we wanted to be and signed there and then.”

Team Principal Dan Walmsley believes Eastwood possesses everything he needs to be a part of the Strakka Racing family, and feels the Northern Ireland driver can be a contender in 2015.

“Charlie is quick and has great attitude, just what we are looking for in the Strakka family,” said Walmsley.

“We are genuinely delighted to get such a strong and capable driver for our first full season in Eurocup.”